Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

FSX including FSX Steam version.

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby 7X7-800 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 9:00 am

When installing FSX to a dedicated disc, are there any programs besides the UTX series that must be loaded onto the same drive? More specifically, where should I put terrain mesh and a program like REX?
7X7-800
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: KIND

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:59 am

When installing FSX to a dedicated disc, are there any programs besides the UTX series that must be loaded onto the same drive? More specifically, where should I put terrain mesh and a program like REX?



Mesh is up to you and the developer who desinged it. It can be installed elsewhere and accessed by the scenery library. I do however install FSGenesis 10m mesh into FSX

As for support programs.. REX is not on the market and I have no idea how it works so i can not advise on that. FEX and GEX however are only database programs that send textures and files to FSX so they should go somewhere other than the FSX drive to conserve space
Last edited by NickN on Fri Jul 11, 2008 10:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby 7X7-800 » Fri Jul 11, 2008 11:04 am

Thanks!
7X7-800
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 38
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2004 2:31 pm
Location: KIND

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby Limpex » Sun Oct 12, 2008 7:48 pm

Good job..
Limpex
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 12, 2008 8:40 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby sandrin » Thu Oct 16, 2008 1:54 pm

Hi,

I just purchased FSX and I install it on my computer. I did install SP1 and I have an on board ATI video card. I do experience flashing screen and sometimes the game is just shutting down itself...
I spoke with tech support from Microsoft and they told me that a better video card may solve the problem.
I will install SP2 as well (I didn't know about it until now) and I also ordered a BFG GeForce 7600GS 256mb OC PCI-Express Video Card.

Do you guys think that will solve my problems?

Cheers!
Sandrin
User avatar
sandrin
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby sandrin » Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:57 pm

NickN:



For those of you running FSX without Acceleration, here is a list to follow should you wish to clean install. It is the same routine as installing Accleration with a few differences:



1. Install RTM, fire up the sim and let it complete the install and boot the default flight.
2. Close the sim

If you have the Deluxe version and want the SDK installed, install it off the DVD now.

3. Reboot the computer

4. Install SP1. Boot the sim and allow it to complete the install and boot the default flight.
5. Close the sim

If you want the SDK install the SDK SP1a.

6. Reboot the computer

7. Install SP2. Boot the sim and allow it to complete the install and boot the default flight.
8. Close the sim

9. Reboot the computer

Make sure you have the latest DirectX installed.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Make sure you have the C++ library update installed.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
(Many add-ons install this update now automatically. I believe Acceleration does too)

8. Start the sim, set up the sliders/checkboxes as you had them. Close the sim
9. Install your addons one at a time, reboot in between and make sure you have the updates for them.


DO NOT MIGRATE the FSX.cfg file you have!
Use it to copy/paste edits but do not overwrite the new file.
The best tweaks are now all in Windows setup and the correct use of O&O Defrag!


You may review drivers/settings and other factors about installing/uising FSX in the original posts above


http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 380641/0#1


http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 380641/0#2



Hi,

You used RTM, sim and SDK in your description.

Can you please tell me what that means..... sorry if the question may look retarded but I just want to make sure I understand.... Thanks
Last edited by sandrin on Thu Oct 16, 2008 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sandrin
User avatar
sandrin
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby truck911 » Thu Oct 16, 2008 6:55 pm

sandrin:

Hi,

You used RTM, sim and SDK in your description.

Can you please tell me what that means..... sorry if the question may look retarded but I just want to make sure I understand.... Thanks


RTM, is the FSX install discs. Really means released to maunufacture or released to marketing. This expression is the inside developers lingo, is used to describe the released version of the software as opposed to beta or trial version. Another term to the end user would be GA, denoting general avilabilty (which is you and me) since we are neither manufacturing or marketing the product or boxed version.

SDK, is contained in the Delux version only and means software development kit. These are tools or information that tells (in this case) plane developers or scenery developers how to interface with the program.
Last edited by truck911 on Thu Oct 16, 2008 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Regards

Gary Anderson
truck911
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2008 7:37 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby sandrin » Fri Oct 17, 2008 7:23 am


Hi,

You used RTM, sim and SDK in your description.

Can you please tell me what that means..... sorry if the question may look retarded but I just want to make sure I understand.... Thanks


RTM, is the FSX install discs.
Sandrin
User avatar
sandrin
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:35 pm

Sim = Simulator
Last edited by NickN on Fri Oct 17, 2008 2:36 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby sandrin » Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:23 am

Hi guys,

I did follow the install as you described it. The install was ok.
I did update my DirectX and C++.
I have a problem
I get flashing screen when I am trying to open the controls for lights, engine, gps, etc. :'(
This is my system:
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4400+ 2.30 GHz
RAM 2.00 GB
BFG GeForce 7600GS 256mb OC PCI-Express Video Card

Any sugestions??? :-?

Thanks,
Sandrin
User avatar
sandrin
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:51 am

This thread is not for diagnostics of problems

However if you are asking about the white flash that occurs when you open the 2D panel, uncheck "Show Cockpit Tooltips" in the DISPLAY - AIRCRAFT TAB settings of FSX

its a know issue for 2 years with nvidia cards
Last edited by NickN on Sat Oct 18, 2008 9:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby sandrin » Sat Oct 18, 2008 1:08 pm

Hey thank you so much!

You guys are awesome! I really appreciate your help with this. It is working perfectly now  :D
Sandrin
User avatar
sandrin
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:43 pm
Location: Toronto

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby hek293 » Wed Apr 29, 2009 5:44 pm

Hi NickN

Cannot thank you enough on the valuable resources and guides to get the most out of FSX.

I have a PC configuration which is quite rare nowadays. I am running FSX on a SINGLE CORE DELL Dimension 4700(5 Years old at least !!!!) (3.0GHZ) plus NVIDIA8800GT (512Mb) and 4.0GHz RAM.

Let me tell you that after following your advice FSX runs at least 20-28FPS steady on most areas with crisp sharp texture rendering quality and I have REX, GEX, UTX_USA, UTX_Europe installed on it. Really something for such a slow rig I think...

One question though.....I performed several tests and have found that when I install FSX_SP2 I am consistently getting significant performance gains compared to FSX_Acceleration installation.

Know why?


EG
hek293
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:12 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:55 pm

no clue other than the fact that acceleration does install a few different files than the stand alone SP2 and it also installs a PILE of addon which requires more attention to defrag maintenance

Perhaps your old hardware does not like them
Last edited by NickN on Wed Apr 29, 2009 6:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby Frequent Flyer » Tue Nov 10, 2009 9:45 am

Hey Nick (and sorry for grave digging),
When installing FSX+Acceleration instead of FSX+SP1+SP2, do I need to uninstall the service packs separately or do they uninstall automatically when I uninstall FSX (via add or remove programs).

Also, is there a limit of how many times I can install FSX or can I uninstall and re-install as many times as I want?

Thanks!
Image
User avatar
Frequent Flyer
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1569
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 6:52 am
Location: Lucy's Sky with Diamonds

PreviousNext

Return to Flight Simulator X (FSX) and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 118 guests