Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

FSX including FSX Steam version.

Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby Fly2e » Tue Dec 11, 2007 8:44 am

A few people wanted to know a good process for un-installing FSX, SP1, Sp2 & Acceleration and then how to reinstall it.
By doing this process you will get a clean install and a fresh new FSX. You should see much better results if you follow this procedure.


1. Un-installed FSX.
2. Install FSX Deluxe
3. Fire up the sim and let it complete the install and boot the default flight.
4. Close the sim.
5. Reboot the computer.
6. Install Acceleration which automatically installs SP1 and SP2.!
7. Boot the sim and allow it to complete the install and boot the default flight.
8. Close the sim.
9. De-fragment the hard drive(s) & perform normal clean ups of machine.
Last edited by Fly2e on Thu Dec 13, 2007 9:05 am, edited 1 time in total.
i7 Extreme Processor 965, 4.2GHz, Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Intel X58 Chipset Cross Fire & SLI Supported, Mushkin Redline 6GB Memory, NVIDIA 750ti, Vista 64.
User avatar
Fly2e
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 199217
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: KFRG

Clean FSX & Acceleration Install in DETAIL!

Postby Fly2e » Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:30 am

The below post is from Nick N. and is a bit more detailed...

Yes, with the changes SP2 incorporates, you all need to be careful of editing the FSX.cfg file.
Many of the tweaks used in the past, like what happened with SP1, are no longer helping the sim and in many respects cause problems. The only tweaks that should be looked at are ones that are designed for dual/quad core, the light scale for the airports, the tweak which removes the sims ability to preload the default flight and only if the system is very slow, perhaps work with the added autogen lines, but otherwise Aces did a bang-up job of getting FSX to run without having to tweak the config as of SP2



And yes, a clean install getting rid of the old install and allowing FSX to update as
Aces intended with SP2/Accell is the best way to go.


1. Install RTM, fire up the sim and let it complete the install and boot the default flight.
2. Close the sim

If you have the Deluxe version and want the SDK installed, install it off the DVD now.

3. Reboot the computer
4. Install Acceleration which will install SP1 and SP2 automatically. Boot the sim and allow it to complete the install and boot the default flight.
5. Close the sim

If you want the Acceleration SDK install it from the disk.

6. Reboot the computer

Make sure you have the latest DirectX installed.[/size]
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Make sure you have the C++ library update installed.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
(Many add-ons install this update now automatically. I believe Acceleration does too)

8. Start the sim, set up the sliders/checkboxes as you had them. Close the sim
9. Install your addons one at a time, reboot in between and make sure you have the updates for them.


DO NOT MIGRATE the FSX.cfg file you have!
Use it to copy/paste edits but do not overwrite the new file.
The best tweaks are now all in Windows setup and the correct use of O&O Defrag!




Here is a list of the ONLY areas one may wish to work with



UPPER_FRAMERATE_LIMIT=? You will need to experiment with your FPS setting.


WideViewAspect=True (FALSE if you do not have a wide screen monitor)


[JOBSCHEDULER]
AffinityMask=xx <----- affinity mask not needed for single core.. leave this entire section out except for quad core and in some cases dual core.


[MAIN]
HideInfoText=1 <---- gets rid of the mag, brakes and other info on the screen (optional)
DisablePreload=1 <--- a Must in order to offload the memory from the default flight and not allow FSX to double load on boot.


[DISPLAY]

TEXTURE_BANDWIDTH_MULT
=70 <----- I would be cautious with this after SP2. Try 50 to 90
keep in mind FSX is not FS9. Although the max Texture Bandwidth Multiplier can go to 400 like FS9, to do so is suicide in FSX. I would say most should be somewhere around 40-90 MAX.
(See illustration below)


[TERRAIN]

SWAP_WAIT_TIMEOUT
=37 <---- NOTE: With changes to SP2 this setting enabled in the config may cause problems there is a scale used for SP1 as follows:


TBM - Texture Bandwidth Multiplier
SWTO = Swap Wait Timeout

TBM - SWTO
190 - 25
180 - 26
170 - 27
160 - 28
150 - 29
140 - 30
130 - 31
120 - 32
110 - 33
100 - 34
90 - 35
80 - 36
70 - 37 <----- try this first.
60 - 38
50 - 39
40 - 40

With SP2 I am no longer using the SWAP_WAIT_TIMEOUT= line above however I have not tested all circumstances yet. You may wish to leave it out of the config and keep the Texture bandwidth multiplier at the FSX default when it created the file.



TERRAIN_MAX_AUTOGEN_TREES_PER_CELL=xxx
TERRAIN_MAX_AUTOGEN_BUILDINGS_PER_CELL=xxxx
Default is 4500 trees and 3000 buildings... it can be raised to max of 6000/6000 or reduced as desired.
I do not use these lines at all anymore and just leave them out.


[BUFFERPOOLS]
Poolsize=8000000 <-----NOTE: 8000000 is for a 8800 card. A 256mb card may only be able to handle 5000000. The default is 4000000. This is another area you may wish to leave out or test. It will have an affect on the turns and panning smoothness but it does lock the video memory from using 5, 8, 10MB for anything other than the buffer cache so if you are short on video memory this may be an issue. The raised the default to 4000000 in SP1.


Proper driver upgrades and proper setup of the drivers with Nhancer is a must!
http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 53/165#171

Why? because if you don't, Nvidia driver profiles REMOVE your ability to change driver settings and FSX settings so no matter what you set in the drivers, Nvidia OVERRRIDES them and FORCES your card to run the way they want it to run, which is BULL on their part. As soon as you boot FSX or FS9, or any other game in the list, the Nvidia drivers override the settings you made and change them without you knowing.


That's not Aces fault and neither are the driver issues FSX displays right now.
Last edited by Fly2e on Thu Jan 03, 2008 4:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.
i7 Extreme Processor 965, 4.2GHz, Asus P6T Deluxe V2 Intel X58 Chipset Cross Fire & SLI Supported, Mushkin Redline 6GB Memory, NVIDIA 750ti, Vista 64.
User avatar
Fly2e
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 199217
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2002 5:29 pm
Location: KFRG

Clean FSX & Acceleration Install

Postby NickN » Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:35 am

The Windows Tweaks and the use of support software such as O&O Defrag that I listed in another thread

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 1208959973


... which has been widely used for some time now are for Windows XP SP2, (the full version) and NOT for Windows XP SP1 and NOT for Windows Vista. They can also be applied to Windows XP x64.


Also, BE CAREFUL with the use of driver cleaning programs like I posted in another thread. You DO NOT NEED TO clean the motherboard drivers, only the video drivers,... and I DID POST not to flush motherboard drivers unless you intend to upgrade them, and only do it after they have been PROPERLY uninstalled from Add/Remove Programs, first.


I do not use Windows Vista for FSX. DX10 was a preview, not a complete re-write. In my opinion Vista needs another service pack past SP1 in January of next year and a lot of driver upgrades before I will find value in using it for graphics performance. That is my opinion and it does not mean what you may be running is bad. It means I prefer to work with the OS and format which are still very much dominating with the least issues and the best overall results.


BE AWARE, Windows XP x32 Will be getting SERVICE PACK 3 in January when Vista gets Service Pack 1


UNTIL VISTA SP1 IS RELEASED, MAKE SURE YOU HAVE ALL THE UPDATES NEEDED TO CORRECT VISTA ISSUES.

John Howard posted a list of them here and Phil Taylor also added to this thread: http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 88591122/0

Windows Update will probably add those updates but make sure you have them. Once VISTA SP1 is released they will come in the update with other fixes.



A few other things I wish to point out.....

1.
Do not defrag after uninstalling. Defrag runs are the absolute LAST steps taken after all software has been installed and set up, and, all add-ons have been installed.



2.
For those of you usi
Last edited by pete on Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Wed Dec 12, 2007 11:15 am

Last edited by pete on Mon Nov 01, 2010 3:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:09 am

Steve Halpern over at Flight 1 has posted a nice write up about VISTA and how to correctly deal with it. The security systems in VISTA can make your life miserable. You can install something and it not work correctly even though it seemed to install fine. Unlike XP which is pretty strait forward, its important you understand VISTA and how to set up the OS



http://www.flight1.com/view.asp?page=vista
Last edited by NickN on Fri Dec 14, 2007 10:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Fri Dec 14, 2007 4:39 pm

SP2 without Acceleration is now LIVE


http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archive/2 ... nload.aspx


Shared Cockpits will now function in mutiplayer between users running Accleration and SP2 (without Acceleration)
Last edited by NickN on Fri Dec 14, 2007 5:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Sat Dec 15, 2007 1:47 pm

For those of you running FSX without Acceleration, here is a list to follow should you wish to clean install. It is the same routine as installing Accleration with a few differences:



1. Install RTM, fire up the sim and let it complete the install and boot the default flight.
2. Close the sim

If you have the Deluxe version and want the SDK installed, install it off the DVD now.

3. Reboot the computer

4. Install SP1. Boot the sim and allow it to complete the install and boot the default flight.
5. Close the sim

If you want the SDK install the SDK SP1a.

6. Reboot the computer

7. Install SP2. Boot the sim and allow it to complete the install and boot the default flight.
8. Close the sim

9. Reboot the computer

Make sure you have the latest DirectX installed.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en

Make sure you have the C++ library update installed.
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/deta ... laylang=en
(Many add-ons install this update now automatically. I believe Acceleration does too)

8. Start the sim, set up the sliders/checkboxes as you had them. Close the sim
9. Install your addons one at a time, reboot in between and make sure you have the updates for them.


DO NOT MIGRATE the FSX.cfg file you have!
Use it to copy/paste edits but do not overwrite the new file.
The best tweaks are now all in Windows setup and the correct use of O&O Defrag!


You may review drivers/settings and other factors about installing/uising FSX in the original posts above


http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 380641/0#1


http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 380641/0#2
Last edited by pete on Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:39 pm

Flight1 has released a FIX for older FS9 aircraft in SP2/Accleration that have VC rain issues and cause the glass to wash out to blue or other colors.

If you have been paying attention to any of the recent threads you are probably aware that SP2 has broken FS9 SDK created aircraft with respect to visibility out of the windscreen in the VC when it is raining. It will render the windscreen a solid blue \ turquoise color.

I believe we have a remedy in the form of a utility that we have created. When you run it, it will replace the affected FSX textures with new ones (No, not the FS9 ones, they are our own) and it will back up your existing FSX textures. Restoring those textures is as easy as clicking on the "restore" button.

It appears to restore visibility to FS9 > FSX aircraft and does not appear to harm the FSX SDK created aircraft in any way.

You may use it, upload it, include it, whatever... but all we ask is that you give us credit.


Run the tool and it will fix the VC rain and cockpit windows for FS9 aircraft


http://www.flight1software.com/fsxtools ... ainfix.exe


It back up your original files and will allow a restore

You now have your windows clear and working

NOTE: THIS FIX DOES NOT MAKE FSX-FS9 AIRCRAFT HAVE VC RAIN FX, ONLY FIX THE WINDSHIELD PROBLEM. DO NOT RUN THIS TOOL IF YOU WANT TO RESTORE VC RAIN FX TO FS9 AIRCRAFT

If you want VC RAIN to work in FS9 aircraft that have the ability, do not run this tool, instead download the add-on vcrain.zip, rlvcrain.zip which contain modified and the orignal backup vc rain textures for FS9 and work in FSX. Install the FS9 default textures and your VC rain will return to FS9 planes
Last edited by NickN on Wed Dec 19, 2007 1:06 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Wed Dec 19, 2007 8:54 am

For those of you who are experiencing the following:


Flashing textures
Black flashing spikes
Flickering taxiways/fences and textures
Loss of lights or boxes appearing instead of lights
Loss of progressive taxi arrows
Crash when accessing the menus
Screen Whiteout or Washout
Intermittent poor performance under certain conditions



Please read here: http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 1198072357

Latest drivers as of today are 169.25 beta. You should keep your drivers up to date as Nvidia is releasing 2 a week right now

You can get the latest Beta release from a trusted source, Guru3D.com
Last edited by pete on Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Thu Dec 20, 2007 1:39 pm

The new SP2 SDK is now LIVE


http://download.microsoft.com/download/ ... 33/sdk.msi


NOTE: IF YOU WANT ACCELERATION -AND- SP2 SDK SUPPORT YOU MUST INSTALL THIS FILE BUT DO NOT INSTALL THE SDK FROM THE ACCELERATION DISK

Examples:

If you want SDK support for Acceleration only, use the SDK from the install CD

If you want suppot for BOTH SP2 and Acceleration you MUST SKIP the Acceleration SDK install from the CD, make sure SP1a SDK is installed, THEN run the new SP2 SDK installer posted above

If you already installed the Acceleration SDK and you want the upgraded dual support, you must UNINSTALL the Acceleration SDK and install the file above over SDK SP1a




UPDATE:

Phil Taylor has confirmed the FSinsider Website is generic in its instructions

the FSInsider advice is generic and not meant to address the special case of authoring for both SP2 and Acceleration.




So therefore my original instructions above are indeed correct. If you wish to have the SDK installed which targets BOTH Acceleration and SP2, you must uninstall the Acceleration SDK, leaving SP1a in the system and then install the SP2 SDK just released.
Last edited by NickN on Tue Dec 25, 2007 11:07 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Fri Dec 21, 2007 11:02 am

More Reflective Water in SP2-Accleration (either one but not SP1) Here: http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 97128602#4
Last edited by pete on Thu Sep 01, 2011 6:28 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:59 pm

Last edited by NickN on Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:02 pm

Issues with props and older FS9 aircraft...



Phil Taylor has provided a nice little writeup on the prop issue and how to fix

http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archive/2 ... x-sp2.aspx
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Sun Jan 06, 2008 12:53 pm

Phil Taylor has blogged again with an update about the "Blurries" (blurry ground textures in flight)

You can review his blog on the subject and the comments I made about it here (scroll down for my comment on the subject):

http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archive/2 ... packs.aspx
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: Clean FSX, Acceleration, SP1 & SP2 Install!

Postby NickN » Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:20 pm

author=Viagra link=1197380641/15#15 date=1213918573]This appears to be the best place to ask this question.

I see documentation that says if you are going to install Acceleration, then you do not need to install SP1 and SP2.

What if you want to install Acceleration, and you already have SP1 and SP2 installed? Will that screw anything up?



No. If memory serves, Acceleration should detect SP2 and uninstall it automatically before installing the SP2 included with Acceleration

in any case, it should not be a problem however one of the reasons that list was posted is because people who had SP1/SP2 installed and then installed Acceleration were finding performance issues.. why was never discovered, so the lists were posted for those who wished to clean install.


I would go ahead and install it and if you find problems and issues with performace, you may need to consider the same direction as the lists. But do make sure to defrag before making any assesments
Last edited by NickN on Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Next

Return to Flight Simulator X (FSX) and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 143 guests