Test Flight 2

Showcasing Specific Payware Products. Please upload images to Simviation before posting

Test Flight 2

Postby Flying Trucker » Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:37 pm

Goodly afternoon all... <<r

We have a Nice Winter Day...Freezing Rain and Snow... :dance:

Good day to do a Simulated Flight.

Windows 10 & Microsoft FSX Deluxe/Acceleration
ORBX Scenery
REX
Carenado Cessna 340
Season is Winter and it is an early morning simulated flight (not completed yet...about 90 minutes to destination)

This Simulated Flight was inspired by OldAirmail when he replied to my Test Flight.
Here is a copy of the Link he also supplied...interesting island

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ren%C3%A9 ... eur_Island

I expanded the NON DIRECT simulated flight:
Departure: Sept-Iles
Destination: La Grande Riviere
Duration: 3:31Hrs and 669.3 NM

On my Logitech G15 Keyboard the CPU varies between 17 & 42 %
RAM is steady at 55%

Frame Rate set at 20 in FSX and using Bilinear Filtering

Anti-Aliasing ON there is a Drop of 6-8 Frame Rates in Cockpit view

Check out this aircraft Livery and notice the scenery. If this aircraft had the misfortune of a crash landing in this area it would blend in with the ground scenery making it very difficult for Search and Rescue to see especially if the ELT was not working or the aircraft was not in touch with an Air Traffic Controller.
Image

Now I was sure there was an airport down there... :lol:
Image

Above the Island in the above Link.
Image

You can see the Island on the GPS.
Image

I am just along for the ride... :dance:
Image

Comments and Advice most appreciated... ;)
Cheers...Happy Landings...Doug
Flying Trucker
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 13925
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:28 pm

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Daube » Wed Jan 11, 2017 4:58 am

Hi Doug,

Nice shots ! 8-)
These remind me of one of my favorite flights in the OrbX PNW region, where I would take off from Hanel Field, head full south, pass next to Mt.Hood, fly over the vast plains and forests with the "three sisters" in sights, and then head down south-west to land at Oakridge State...

Concerning your frame rates, first of all I'm surprised you set them to such a low value as 20.
But then the impact you get when switching the antialiasing might be due to your video card settings.
Which video card do you have ? I forgot :oops:
User avatar
Daube
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6226
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Nice (FR)

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Flying Trucker » Wed Jan 11, 2017 7:41 am

Good morning Stephane... <<r

Here is what information I thought you might need.

Now All my Sliders in the FSX Game are moved one (1) spot to the Left of Maximum Setting.

In the FSX Game itself there are two choices for the High Definition Display Adapter.

Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600-1

I take it the 4600-1 refers to my main monitor But I find the 4600 works better.

The NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 does not show as a Choice in FSX

I plugged everything into the Intel(R) HD Graphics Display Adapter because it is the newest and when I plugged my monitors into it I eliminated two Pin Adapters I was using for the NVIDIA Adapter.

Now another question is does it matter what Search Engine I use :?:

I ask that because the Flight Plans would not Print when in the FSX Game, I was using the recommended Internet Explorer.
Now Windows 10 I believe uses Edge.
I am now using Google again and the Flight Plans Print OK. So Google is my Default Browser.

Tried all the Filtering Settings in the FSX Settings and see little difference. I have FSX set to Bi-linear.

Display
Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600 [Display Adapter]
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 [Display Adapter]
Acer AL1916W [Monitor] mostly used for GPS & Autopilot...Display
Samsung SMB2330H [Monitor] used for simulated flight

Operating System
Windows 10 Professional (64)
Boot Mode: UEFI with Secure Boot disabled

Processor
4.00 gigahertz Intel Core i7-4790K
256 kilobyte primary memory cache
1024 kilobyte secondary memory cache
8192 kilobyte tertiary memory cache
64-bit ready
Multi-core (4 total)
Hyper-threaded (8 total)

Drives
3570.09 Gigabytes Usable Hard Drive Capacity
3129.05 Gigabytes Hard Drive Free Space

Memory Modules
8054 Megabytes Usable Installed Memory

This machine has no other games on it and it's primary use is for the Flight Simulator Game.

Stephane...do you think I should update my Processor :?:
Cheers...Happy Landings...Doug
Flying Trucker
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 13925
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:28 pm

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Daube » Wed Jan 11, 2017 8:27 am

Thanks for the detailled description Doug.
The big problem here is your Intel adaptater.
FSX is not supposed to run on that. Such adapters are in fact not made for gaming at all, and their power is very low.

I'm not sure I understand your explanations about the plugs, but do you mean your monitor is not plugged to your NVidia card ?
Anyways, you have to modify some settings to force your computer to use the NVidia card when FSX is running.
I think I saw something like that on the laptop of a friend of mine, but it was a long time ago... I think there were some settings similar to power management somewhere. For each application, you could define if if was a normal power (Intel adapter) or maximum/high power (with the real graphic card).
Are you aware of anything like that on your computer ?

EDIT: just to give you an idea about the differences, I read a few power comparison pages between the Intel adapter and your GTX580.
In average, the GTX580 is approximatively 500% more powerful than the Intel adapter. Yes, five hundred percent.
The Intel adapter is made for watching webpages and movies, eventually. Not for gaming ;)
User avatar
Daube
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6226
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Nice (FR)

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Flying Trucker » Wed Jan 11, 2017 9:32 am

Hi Stephane

No...both monitors and everything else are plugged into the Intel Board.

Graphics do seem good though especially with the HD Payware Aircraft.

Both monitors had to have Pin Adapters to plug into the NVIDIA but they plug directly into the Intel without the adapters.
Cheers...Happy Landings...Doug
Flying Trucker
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 13925
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:28 pm

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Daube » Thu Jan 12, 2017 1:11 am

Well in that case I don't really know how to proceed.
To me, it seems that your computer can only use the Intel adapter, and the GTX is never used. For performances in video games, this is a problem.
User avatar
Daube
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6226
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Nice (FR)

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Shadowcaster » Thu Jan 12, 2017 6:16 am

Hi Doug a very nice set there hope you had the thermals on for the flight. :o :lol: :lol:

Cheers
Rich
You never run out of things that can go wrong.

Edward A. Murphy (Murphy's Law)
User avatar
Shadowcaster
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1383
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:39 am
Location: Cornwall UK

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Flying Trucker » Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:08 am

Thanks Rich...much appreciated... <<q
Cheers...Happy Landings...Doug
Flying Trucker
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 13925
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:28 pm

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Flying Trucker » Thu Jan 12, 2017 7:15 am

Good Morning Stephane... <<u

Well I am going to take your valued advice and go purchase two (2) New Monitor Cables that will plug into my NVIDIA Display Adapter. The Monitor Cords came with a USB type adapter on one end and I need something that will plug into the NVIDIA Pin Holes.

I want to eliminate the use of the two (2) adapters on the Monitor Cords I use to plug into the NVIDIA unit.

Thanks again Stephane...will let you know how this turns out... ;)
Cheers...Happy Landings...Doug
Flying Trucker
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 13925
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:28 pm

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Daube » Thu Jan 12, 2017 10:44 am

No problems Doug. I hope we can get this sorted asap :)
User avatar
Daube
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6226
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Nice (FR)

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Flying Trucker » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:09 am

Good morning Stephane... <<u

Blasted weather...went too two Computer Shops yesterday to purchase those Cords and both have been closed since the 11th of January because of the weather...can't believe it.

Will try again today and get back to you later...Cheers...Doug
Cheers...Happy Landings...Doug
Flying Trucker
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 13925
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 12:28 pm

Re: Test Flight 2

Postby Daube » Fri Jan 13, 2017 7:36 am

Haha, no need to hurry Doug, especially if the weather is really *that* bad.
Better keep safe, you can always get these cables later.
User avatar
Daube
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6226
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Nice (FR)


Return to Payware Screenshot Showcase

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 281 guests