ETS2 anmd ATS

The Cage...What's YOUR Game? Non MS FS/CFS games screenshots - editing allowed!

ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Shadowcaster » Tue Feb 12, 2019 1:53 pm

Afraid flight simming is on the back burner these days the truck sims are proving irresistible. The truck sim community had a Christmas challenge and between us we managed 1,600,000 in game deliveries over Europe and USA. Of course I thank DaveT for getting me interested in the games. Any way a few screenshot are in order.

Can't get away from planes.
Image

Old school Volvo with a familiar livery.
Image

Heavy load with only a 550hp Caterpiller for power.
Image

Cornwall's very own Westfield
Image

Over the pond
Image

Lovely old Pete delivering pressies
Image

The mighty 389 in Oregon
Image

55ton Transformer light work for the 750hp Cat
Image

and finally one of my favourites a Pete 567 a slick looking machine.
Image

Cheers
Rich
All I ask is the chance to prove that money can't make me happy.

Spike Milligan
User avatar
Shadowcaster
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:39 am
Location: Cornwall UK

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Dave T » Tue Feb 12, 2019 3:10 pm

Great shots Rich keep on trucking.
User avatar
Dave T
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1551
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:40 am
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Hawkeye07 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 12:27 am

Pretty impressive Rich. That last shot has some fantastic scenery detail. Which simulator is it and is that the stock scenery?
Image

An Aircraft Mechanic only needs two tools, Duct Tape and WD40.
If it moves and it's not supposed to - use the Duct Tape.
If it doesn't move and it's supposed to - use the WD40.

Intel(R) i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, P55M-UD4, GeForce GTX960 8.00 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate (32 bit & 64 bit on separate HDs)
User avatar
Hawkeye07
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Landlocked in the Midwest USA at KAXN

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Shadowcaster » Sat Feb 16, 2019 6:56 am

Thanks chaps, yep the scenery is like that through out the two games that shot was from ATS in Nevada I think

This one is from ETS2.
Image

Another one from ETS2
Image

ATS coastal scenery
Image

Towns and cities in both sims are much smaller than RL but do give a flavour of the sights and give a very immersive feel to the games you certainly know your in a different state/country when driving around. All the trucks came with the game or were free downloads from one of the many mod sites. There are addon scenery packages for both sims which can be downloaded from Steam or on DVD from Amazon. https://store.steampowered.com/app/2708 ... Simulator/ https://store.steampowered.com/app/2273 ... mulator_2/ they both come up much cheaper in the sales or you can buy Steam keys which I did for a couple of the addons at a cheaper price.

Cheers
Rich
All I ask is the chance to prove that money can't make me happy.

Spike Milligan
User avatar
Shadowcaster
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:39 am
Location: Cornwall UK

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Hawkeye07 » Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:09 pm

Rich, with all this gorgeous scenery how are these sims for FPS? Can you select any truck to drive in any country or is it regional specific?
Image

An Aircraft Mechanic only needs two tools, Duct Tape and WD40.
If it moves and it's not supposed to - use the Duct Tape.
If it doesn't move and it's supposed to - use the WD40.

Intel(R) i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, P55M-UD4, GeForce GTX960 8.00 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate (32 bit & 64 bit on separate HDs)
User avatar
Hawkeye07
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Landlocked in the Midwest USA at KAXN

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Dave T » Sun Feb 17, 2019 3:52 am

No problems with frame rates with Ets2, both are 64 bit and run smoothly. Demo versions for both sims are available if you want to try them first on your pc.
User avatar
Dave T
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1551
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:40 am
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Shadowcaster » Sun Feb 17, 2019 1:08 pm

Yea as Dave said no FPS issues, it does slow down a bit in cities in ATS but it's a newer game than ETS2 and a bit more demanding. The trucks are game specific for the most part but like FS2004, stuff can be made to work in FSX it's the same with the truck sims. Many enterprising souls have made the American trucks work in Europe and visa versa, I do have the American Volvo's working in ETS2 but somehow it does not seem right to drive a Peterbilt 386 down the European roads and it's the same in ATS somehow driving a Scania in the states feels wrong but that's just me I guess.

Could this be Fozzer crashing his Cessna in Oregon and making a getaway on a bike. :lol:
Image

Cheers
Rich
All I ask is the chance to prove that money can't make me happy.

Spike Milligan
User avatar
Shadowcaster
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:39 am
Location: Cornwall UK

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Hawkeye07 » Sun Feb 17, 2019 2:36 pm

Dave & Rich thanks for the info. I just can't get over the detail in those pictures Rich. I'm running 64 bit on one hard drive which is where I have FSX right now. I think I'll check out those demos.
Image

An Aircraft Mechanic only needs two tools, Duct Tape and WD40.
If it moves and it's not supposed to - use the Duct Tape.
If it doesn't move and it's supposed to - use the WD40.

Intel(R) i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, P55M-UD4, GeForce GTX960 8.00 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate (32 bit & 64 bit on separate HDs)
User avatar
Hawkeye07
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Landlocked in the Midwest USA at KAXN

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Shadowcaster » Mon Feb 18, 2019 2:01 am

The one thing I would say is that if you like the demos then you really need a steering wheel with force feedback. I got a second hand Logitech GT and it transformed the games so much so that now I want an 18 speed shifter.

Cheers
Rich
All I ask is the chance to prove that money can't make me happy.

Spike Milligan
User avatar
Shadowcaster
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1720
Joined: Thu Oct 28, 2010 10:39 am
Location: Cornwall UK

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby Hawkeye07 » Mon Feb 18, 2019 2:39 am

Thanks for the tip Rich, I'll look into that steering wheel.
Image

An Aircraft Mechanic only needs two tools, Duct Tape and WD40.
If it moves and it's not supposed to - use the Duct Tape.
If it doesn't move and it's supposed to - use the WD40.

Intel(R) i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, P55M-UD4, GeForce GTX960 8.00 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate (32 bit & 64 bit on separate HDs)
User avatar
Hawkeye07
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Landlocked in the Midwest USA at KAXN

Re: ETS2

Postby Dave T » Sun May 05, 2019 9:12 am

Removed Ets2 completely, reinstalled latest version from steam. Slightly better textures on the roads and shadows, new accessories tail lift/crane for the trailers.
Going to reinstall a few of the mods traffic/doubles and the T and see if they work, Don't now if the old profile works in the new version without the same mods being installed.
Started again with a new profile just to be safe with no errors.
User avatar
Dave T
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1551
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2015 4:40 am
Location: Lincolnshire

Re: ETS2 anmd ATS

Postby B0ikat » Sun May 05, 2019 12:22 pm

A long time ago I came to the realization that I would never have made it as a trucker. I'd always arrive with late deliveries because I would always be stopping at road cuts to look for fossils. I would also have to explain why my rig kept getting heavier and heavier, what's with all the rocks in the back of the cab, and what kind of handle is "Lithocanis Rex"?
B0ikat
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 434
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Behind you.


Return to The Cage

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 284 guests