Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Anything to do with Aircraft Design, FSDS, G Max, Aircraft Animator, SDL Edit, etc. Novice or skilled - stop here & learn!

Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby skoker » Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:18 pm

Lets see if anyone can tell what it is, but I highly doubt it since its fairly new and there is literally no detail right now.

If anyone wants to help/has experience in gmax/3ds with texturing send me a message.
Last edited by skoker on Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
skoker
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4260
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:19 pm
Location: 1G3

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby gtirob01 » Mon Oct 24, 2011 2:39 pm

Hmmm, Citation Latitude?
My specs... A hard drive, motherboard, graphics card, some memory, a keyboard, mouse, and monitor - in other words, nothing special.

Image

My Posky
User avatar
gtirob01
Major
Major
 
Posts: 3572
Joined: Fri Jul 20, 2007 11:10 pm
Location: Ft. Walton Beach, FL

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby skoker » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:23 pm

Nope!  Not even a Cessna jet...  here is the fixed wing root:

Image
Image
User avatar
skoker
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4260
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:19 pm
Location: 1G3

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby jetprop » Mon Oct 24, 2011 3:53 pm

nimrod?
its hard to see the size.
Image
User avatar
jetprop
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1518
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:03 am
Location: a chair infront of a monitor.

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby Mitch. » Tue Oct 25, 2011 5:04 am

Wow, glad to see your back into it Jordan. Its a great feeling seeing something you work on actually in the sim. And I'm sorry. ;D

If you can see the model in the sim then it has exported just fine. ;)

Perhpas an Embraer Phenom 300?
User avatar
Mitch.
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3827
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 1:31 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby skoker » Tue Oct 25, 2011 8:46 am

Wow, glad to see your back into it Jordan. Its a great feeling seeing something you work on actually in the sim. And I'm sorry. ;D

If you can see the model in the sim then it has exported just fine. ;)

Perhpas an Embraer Phenom 300?

Its actually going to be a Hawker 4000.

And I ask how to export because I exported as a Fs9 model and I want to make it a FSX native model...
Last edited by skoker on Tue Oct 25, 2011 9:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
skoker
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4260
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:19 pm
Location: 1G3

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby jrbirdman » Wed Oct 26, 2011 5:35 am

Looks great!! What platform are you aiming for with this beauty? Kind regards, Jeremy   
Image
User avatar
jrbirdman
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 450
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:38 am
Location: KLAS

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby alrot » Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:33 pm

wow! that begins to looks good !
Last edited by alrot on Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Venezuela
User avatar
alrot
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 8960
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:47 am

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby Xpand » Wed Oct 26, 2011 4:04 pm

Looks nice, but you might want to take care of the dark edges on the wing. They're usualy caused by the wing having a very proeminent edge separating the bottom wing from the top wing. That's solved with using prevent indirect smoothing and autosmooth on the smooth modifier.
Xpand
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 381
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2008 6:55 pm

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby skoker » Wed Oct 26, 2011 6:22 pm

Looks nice, but you might want to take care of the dark edges on the wing. They're usualy caused by the wing having a very proeminent edge separating the bottom wing from the top wing. That's solved with using prevent indirect smoothing and autosmooth on the smooth modifier.


I still need to cut out the flap parts and such, hopefully I can do that soon and fix it.

wow! that begins to looks good !  :o

do you know how to cut Jordan and Mitch?
I mean to open the cockpit and landing gears etc..

anything just let me know

Yeah, I'm going to need a lot of help with that, and probably the animating too.  (I can model just not animate yet) ;D
Image
User avatar
skoker
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4260
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:19 pm
Location: 1G3

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby Mitch. » Thu Oct 27, 2011 5:47 am

And I ask how to export because I exported as a Fs9 model and I want to make it a FSX native model...  which I don't quite know how to do. ;)


In that case, you will need to use the FSX supplied Gmax within the SDK. Then just export as an .mdl and it will give you a bunch of options to choose such as DDS textures or BMP textures. If all goes well and no problems occur during the export process it should be a native FSX model, check in FSX if the model has self-shadowing. :)

BTW, looking good. 8-)
User avatar
Mitch.
Global Moderator
Global Moderator
 
Posts: 3827
Joined: Sun Jun 03, 2007 1:31 am
Location: Australia

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby alrot » Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:40 am

wait a minute
Last edited by alrot on Thu Oct 27, 2011 8:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Venezuela
User avatar
alrot
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 8960
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:47 am

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby skoker » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:42 am

I've tried to install the FSX gmax but it doesn't like me and will only give me the FS9 options.  I have no idea on how to fix it.  Anyone have an idea or just wants to send me theirs?   :)
Image
User avatar
skoker
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4260
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:19 pm
Location: 1G3

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby alrot » Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:02 am

[quote]I've tried to install the FSX gmax but it doesn't like me and will only give me the FS9 options.
Last edited by alrot on Thu Oct 27, 2011 10:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image

Venezuela
User avatar
alrot
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 8960
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2003 10:47 am

Re: Mitch sparked my intrest again...

Postby skoker » Thu Oct 27, 2011 12:50 pm

Good news: It's now FSX native! :D

Bad news: Smoothing issue...
Last edited by skoker on Thu Oct 27, 2011 1:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
skoker
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4260
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:19 pm
Location: 1G3

Next

Return to Aircraft & 3D Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 234 guests