N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

FSX including FSX Steam version.

N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby scda » Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:10 am

Hello ,
I need little help ...

I downloaded Northrop N9M flying wing from Simviation, I installed it in FSX Acceleration but there is no sound.
I copied file into Simobjects/Airplanes then saw sound not working and copied files from airplane Sound folder to FSX Sound. I do not think was the case, anyway it still not works.
Do anyone have a suggestion?

Download link:
https://simviation.com/1/search?submit= ... p&x=19&y=5

Thanks,
scda
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby pete » Sat Apr 13, 2019 6:37 am

Hi
I just checked the file and it works fine.
The folder called 'Northrop_N9M_V.0_X' contains all the required sub folders, etc, including the sound folder. There is no need to do anything other than install 'Northrop_N9M_V.0_X' folder into the /Simobjects/Airplanes folder.

If you just delete the existing file and start over you should be good to fly.

Let us know if you have any problem and happy flying <<q
Men don't care what's on TV. They only care what else is on TV.
::: Jerry Seinfeld
User avatar
pete
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10167
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby Hagar » Sat Apr 13, 2019 8:21 am

That's odd. No engine sounds for me either. :think: If I figure it out I will report back.

In the meantime you could try using the sound from an installed aircraft that works.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34718
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby scda » Sat Apr 13, 2019 11:11 am

Hi,
I did as suggested, I re-downloaded the package again, I deleted all files related from FSX. Then I copied the files in Airplanes folder.
Sound still not works.
scda
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby B0ikat » Sat Apr 13, 2019 12:05 pm

It works for me. The sound.cfg is aliased to the Beech Baron 58: alias=beech_baron_58\sound
B0ikat
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Behind you.

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby scda » Sat Apr 13, 2019 3:42 pm

Hi,

@B0ikat, thanks for the idea. I will try it.
But I thought there are N9M specific sounds
scda
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby Hagar » Sat Apr 13, 2019 5:36 pm

I think were talking about 2 different files. Check this out --> https://simviation.com/1/search?submit=1&keywords=Northrop+N9M&categoryId=

The one from scda's original link has its own sound files which don't work for some unknown reason.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34718
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby B0ikat » Sat Apr 13, 2019 7:47 pm

True. I have the earlier version.
B0ikat
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2013 11:20 pm
Location: Behind you.

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby napamule » Sun Apr 14, 2019 12:33 am

Could the problem be that the aircraft cfg has both 'panel=' and 'panel_alias=' lines in the (flightsim.x) section(s)? Never seen both being needed but I could be wrong.
Chuck B
Napamule
User avatar
napamule
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 4:50 pm
Location: California

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby scda » Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:33 am

Hi,
I tried alias in sound.cfg

[FLTSIM]
alias = beech_baron_58\sound

but was not working, also
- I added sound_alias in aircraft.cfg
the sound still not working then
- I removed panel_alias and sound_alias from aircraft cfg.
the sound still not working

I could still not figure it out
Anyone have any idea?
scda
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby Hagar » Sun Apr 14, 2019 5:18 am

scda wrote:Hi,
I tried alias in sound.cfg

[FLTSIM]
alias = beech_baron_58\sound

but was not working, also
- I added sound_alias in aircraft.cfg
the sound still not working then
- I removed panel_alias and sound_alias from aircraft cfg.
the sound still not working

I could still not figure it out
Anyone have any idea?

Why not paste a copy of the default Beech Baron sound folder into your Flying Wing main folder. Overwrite existing files when prompted.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34718
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby scda » Sun Apr 14, 2019 6:14 am

Hi Hagar,

Copying sound file from a different plane is a solution indeed and I did that.
But a freeware for me means if I copy these files and not resolve the issue I would miss the work of the authors and not provide the appreciation for their effort. I would really like to find a way to make it work.

I am not sure is this a cfg issue or and issue related to files itself. I am not expert.
scda
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby Hagar » Sun Apr 14, 2019 7:15 am

scda wrote:Hi Hagar,

Copying sound file from a different plane is a solution indeed and I did that.
But a freeware for me means if I copy these files and not resolve the issue I would miss the work of the authors and not provide the appreciation for their effort. I would really like to find a way to make it work.

I am not sure is this a cfg issue or and issue related to files itself. I am not expert.

You might not realise that this aircraft was updated to FSX native standard by a 3rd party (LLS) from the original FS2004 version posted here --> https://simviation.com/1/search?submit=1&keywords=N-9M&categoryId=

This is the LLS updated version --> https://simviation.com/1/search?submit=1&keywords=Northrop_N9M_X.zip&categoryId=&filename=Y

Like the original version it has the sound aliased to the default Beech Baron so I presume the sound package was added at a later date.

The uploader of the file you have is a regular contributor to this forum so you could try asking him about the problem. https://forums.simviation.com/phpBB3/memberlist.php?mode=viewprofile&u=86506
According to his readme his update was not tested in FSX. (Assembled and tested in P3Dv4.2 by Chris Evans. Should also work in FSX and previous P3D versions (not tested).

My knowledge of MSFS sound files is very limited or I would try to figure it out for you myself.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34718
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby scda » Sun Apr 14, 2019 1:03 pm

Hi Hagar,
My initial thought was the sound was some how specific to this plane.
Thanks for the information and support.
scda
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2014 2:16 pm

Re: N9M flying wing addon - sound not working

Postby napamule » Sun Apr 14, 2019 10:40 pm

The sound is never specific to any one airplane. The sound may sound slightly different for different models but that's it. You can use any sound including turbo-prop, prop, etc. If the sound is aliased to the Baron then you can simply copy the Baron sound folder over from the Baron. You rename the orig Sound folder to 'sound.orig' as it has a sound cfg that is aliased to the Baron sound while the copied over Baron sound will have all the sound (*.wav) files which the sound cfg will point to and you will get sound.
Chuck B
Napamule
User avatar
napamule
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 237
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 4:50 pm
Location: California

Next

Return to Flight Simulator X (FSX) and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 116 guests