Noob Networking Q's

Graphics Cards, Sound Cards, Joysticks, Computers, etc. Ask or advise here!

Noob Networking Q's

Postby New Light » Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:56 am

Hey Guys n Gals!

I have a new PC on the way, and I am hoping to network them. I have read the seemly appropriate threads and watched You Tube vids on FSUIPC4, Wide FS 7 & some SimConnect items. I am still unclear on:

* Can I network Windows 10 Home with Windows 7 Home Premium?
---> Do I need to have Windows 10 PRO on one or both PCs to network them?
---> Do I need/would it be better to have Windows 10 Home on both PCs?

Old PC: i7 2600 3.4 GHz, 8Gs mem, NVidia 530 GT 2G, Corsair 700, Antec 1200, 1000w PSU, Win 7 Prem
New PC: i7 7700K, 4.7 GHz, 32Gs mem, NVidia 1080Ti 11G, Liquid Cooled, OEM case & PSU, Win 10 Home
I own registered copies of Pete Dowson's FSUIPC4 and Wide FS 7.
I will purchase FSUIPC5 for P3Dv4.1 if I can get these rigs to run FSX:SE properly.
I have a router with ethernet cables to connect the PCs.

Thank you for any help, tips, advice,
Dave
User avatar
New Light
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Mandeville, LA USA

Re: Noob Networking Q's

Postby EVVFCX » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:05 pm

Hi

Yes you can network win10 & 7.
I haven't done it yet, just got gaming laptop off wife for Christmas so I've only just finished re-installing fsx and fs9 under win 10.

What I read is that you create the homegroup on win 10 then add the win 7 pc to it.

I had win 7 and xp talking ok so expecting same as yourself with win 10 and win 7

regards

steve
May the Mynd be with you.
So far my number of landings either passenger or pilot equal my number of takeoffs, but that may change :)

FSX Gold
User avatar
EVVFCX
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire

Re: Noob Networking Q's

Postby EVVFCX » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:03 pm

PS,

You can create the workgroup with same details on both pc's.
The win10 pc will create a password which you use on the win 7 pc.
In the past I didn't need to do this if I was just networking games.

Will prob do mine this week.

regards

Steve
May the Mynd be with you.
So far my number of landings either passenger or pilot equal my number of takeoffs, but that may change :)

FSX Gold
User avatar
EVVFCX
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire

Re: Noob Networking Q's

Postby New Light » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:33 pm

Outstanding! Thank you Sir!
User avatar
New Light
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Mandeville, LA USA

Re: Noob Networking Q's

Postby EVVFCX » Sun Jan 21, 2018 4:27 pm

Hi,

Just a bit of an update for you, my win10 laptop could see my win7 ok, got the password for the homegroup off the win7 and typed into the win10 and all ok.
FSX running fine as long as use direct connection via IP, have seen this a few years ago where a win 10 could not see sessions running on win 7.

regards

Steve
May the Mynd be with you.
So far my number of landings either passenger or pilot equal my number of takeoffs, but that may change :)

FSX Gold
User avatar
EVVFCX
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 691
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire

Re: Noob Networking Q's

Postby New Light » Mon Jan 22, 2018 12:54 am

Roger that! My new PC finally came in, although with the a slower processor. I will work on this at the beginning of the week. Thanks for the heads up!

Dave
User avatar
New Light
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 11:59 am
Location: Mandeville, LA USA


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 292 guests