TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

General discussion for CFS2 - WW 2 Pacific Theater

TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

Postby investdude » Wed Jul 05, 2017 12:35 am

Just wondering if anyone who has tried Tom Sandford's Bristol Beaufort, posted recently on Simviation CSF2 Aircraft, has run into the same problem as I have with the weapons. They appear all right in the bomb bay but when you drop them, they don't drop, they just disappear.
User avatar
investdude
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Chilliwack, BC Canada

Re: TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

Postby Hagar » Wed Jul 05, 2017 3:13 am

Have you tried Tom's original Beaufort? Note there is an updated MDL file for it.

https://simviation.com/1/search?submit=1&keywords=Beaufort&categoryId=83
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34779
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

Postby investdude » Wed Jul 05, 2017 8:04 pm

I had not but I just tried it, with the updated model file, and it is exactly the same. The weapons appear but disappear when you try to drop or launch them.
User avatar
investdude
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Chilliwack, BC Canada

Re: TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

Postby Hagar » Thu Jul 06, 2017 1:52 am

Very odd. I tried both versions & they both work for me.

Image
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34779
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

Postby investdude » Fri Jul 07, 2017 2:22 pm

Thanks for trying Hagar. I have a separate install of CFS2 for the ETO so I tried the Beaufort there and it was just the same, the weapons appear but disappear when dropped or launched. All other aircraft's weapons operate normally so it must be caused by something in the Beaufort files. I'm stumped.
User avatar
investdude
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Chilliwack, BC Canada

Re: TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

Postby Hagar » Sat Jul 08, 2017 3:59 pm

Years ago I might have been able to help fix your problem. Unfortunately too much water has passed under the bridge since then & I've forgotten most of what I once knew about CFS2. :?
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34779
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

Postby B24Guy » Fri Jan 12, 2018 12:44 am

Hi Investdude,
Your problem is in the DP file. If it does not have a number for the quantity of Bombs in the DP the bombs will vanish when dropped.
Here are the entries for the Wildcat.
[GUNSTATIONS]
gunstation.0=0,24,1,0.08,839,2,0.01,500,2,40,1d1*14,-3.169,0.04,0.69,0.119651268759032,0,0.605211907602225,0,0,0,0,1.6
gunstation.1=0,31,1,0.08,839,2,0.01,500,2,40,1d1*14,3.169,0.04,0.69,0.119651268759032,0,-0.605211907602225,0,0,0,0,1.6
gunstation.2=3,21,8,1.00,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0

[guns.0]
gun.0=240,1.269,-0.088,-1.3999999999E-02,0,0,1,240
gun.1=240,1.013,-0.067,-2.299999999E-02,0,0,1,240
gun.2=240,0,0,0,0,0,1,240

[guns.1]
gun.0=240,-1.268,-0.086,-1.39999999999999E-02,0,0,1,240
gun.1=240,-1.013,-0.067,-2.29999999999999E-02,0,0,1,240
gun.2=240,0,0,0,0,0,1,240

[guns.2]
gun.0=2,0,0,0,0,0,0,0

The entry [guns.2] is the bombs entry. The first entry after gun.0= is the number of bombs.

The easy way to fix it is to use DPED a windows based prog. to open and modify DP files.

Remember to delete the CDP file after making changes. CFS2 will rebuild it at next startup.

Hope this helps,
B24Guy
B24Guy
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2003 11:03 am

Re: TRA Bristol Beaufort for CFS2

Postby investdude » Sat Jan 13, 2018 3:38 pm

Thanks for your help B24Guy, that did the trick! I was able to fix 4 out of my 5 Beauforts, the last one has more serious defects in the DP file and I'm not much good with the DP Edit program. It has a learning curve and I've never had enough time to properly learn it.

Investdude
User avatar
investdude
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 4:56 pm
Location: Chilliwack, BC Canada


Return to Combat Flight Simulator 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 53 guests