FS 2002 PRO in windows 8.1

Flight Simulator 2002. Questions, suggestions, problems or solutions... aim here!

FS 2002 PRO in windows 8.1

Postby jimclarke » Sat Nov 22, 2014 12:56 am

Hi Simviation folks! Long time no see!! Loaded my FS 2002 PRO on a new desktop. Its a dell inspiron 2.4 GHz with 4G ram. FSX and FS9 work fine on it but since I like the oldies I tried FS 2002 PRO but I get a CTD just after the splash screen comes up. Any clues as to why this might be?? Thanks in advance!! You can never have too many flight sims installed!!

Jim
User avatar
jimclarke
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 1:38 am
Location: Arizona

Re: FS 2002 PRO in windows 8.1

Postby Fozzer » Sat Nov 22, 2014 4:27 am

Hello Jim... :D ...!

Just out of curiosity, ('cos it always kills the cat), I have just re-installed my trusty copy of FS 2002 Pro on my 64-bit, Win 8.1 computer (details below), and it runs a treat with everything wound up to the absolute max!
Plenty of room on my HDD, so I now have running; FS '98, FS 2000, FS 2002, FS 2004, and FSX!

The receipt for my FS 2002 records it being purchased on 10/11/2001, at the enormous price of £69:99!
14 years of my life ago!....I dread to think how many years ago I purchased my FS '98.... :shock: ...!
...so many years wasted in pretending to fly imaginary aeroplanes around an imaginary World...every day!... :o ....!

So there you go Jim. My DVD's are always kept protected in their cases (so no damage), so I cant figure out why you would be having difficulties with your copy!

Did all the DVD's install correctly/fully?

Its interesting to see the original "Meigs Field" again on FS 2002!

Paul....wasting more of my life flying FSX now... :lol: ... :lol: ...!
Win 8.1 64-bit. DX11. Advent Tower. Intel i7-3770 3.9 GHz 8-core. 8 GB System RAM. AMD Radeon HD 7700 1GB RAM. DVD ROM. 2 Terra Byte SATA Hard Drive. Philips 17" LCD Monitor. Saitek Cyborg X Fly-5 Joystick. ...and a Briggs and Stratton Petrol Lawn Mower.
User avatar
Fozzer
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 31907
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 3:11 pm
Location: Hereford. England. EGBS.

Re: FS 2002 PRO in windows 8.1

Postby jimclarke » Sat Nov 22, 2014 11:00 am

It appeared to install just fine. I got this computer mainly for internet use, my games being on a different computer which had no internet connection. Just out of curiosity I loaded FSX and FS9 on the new one and they actually ran better!! (my other computer was a bit of a dinosaur anyway.) If I can't get 2002 to run it's no big deal but I just like having a variety. Thanks!

Sorry about your cat!

Jim
User avatar
jimclarke
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 638
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 1:38 am
Location: Arizona

Re: FS 2002 PRO in windows 8.1

Postby Webb » Sun Jan 04, 2015 1:45 am

MS says the program is incompatible but that's their answer to everything.

Go into your MODULES folder and copy (not cut and paste) traffic.dll to your FS2002 root folder. Problem solved.
"Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell no!" - Sen. John Blutarsky

You know, this used to be a helluva good country. I don't understand what's gone wrong with it. - George Hanson, 1969

A bad day at golf is better than a good day at work.


Image

Jim
User avatar
Webb
Major
Major
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:45 pm
Location: KBCT


Return to FS 2002

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 298 guests