Different OS, same issue

Flight Simulator 2000 Forum

Different OS, same issue

Postby jrbirdman » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:05 pm

On the laptop I'm using, I'm running Windows 7 with SP1 and I just tried to install FS2000 Pro. It's a brand new copy, was sealed when I got it and yet now it's hanging at the Splash Screen after initial installation. How do I fix this? Paul, if you are reading this, I know you have 8 and are running all sims but I can't get this to work. Help me my friend. Kind regards, Jeremy
User avatar
jrbirdman
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:38 am
Location: KLAS

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby Fozzer » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:26 pm

Why FS 2000 Jeremy?... :roll: ...!

It was quite poorly done, and FS 2002 was a really big improvement over it.

I would stick to either FS 2002 or FS 2004.... :D ...!

..and you are running them on a...."LAPTOP"!!... :shock: ... :shock: ...!

Paul.... :mrgreen: ...!
Win 8.1 64-bit. DX11. Advent Tower. Intel i7-3770 3.9 GHz 8-core. 8 GB System RAM. AMD Radeon HD 7700 1GB RAM. DVD ROM. 2 Terra Byte SATA Hard Drive. Philips 17" LCD Monitor. Saitek Cyborg X Fly-5 Joystick. ...and a Briggs and Stratton Petrol Lawn Mower.
User avatar
Fozzer
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 31070
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 3:11 pm
Location: Hereford. England. EGBS.

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby jrbirdman » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:33 pm

Simply put...... Variety and I want to experience the evolution. Plus I like some of the addons. Lol I guess I just want to have them all up and running like you do :)
User avatar
jrbirdman
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:38 am
Location: KLAS

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby Fozzer » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:43 pm

You are going to need a much bigger HDD, Jeremy!.... :o ...!

...fitted into a Gamer's domestic Tower computer equivalent of the Cray Supercomputer....

...like we Computer Gamer Geeks do!... :dance:...!

(Can you fit a bigger HDD into that Laptop?).... :roll: ...!

Paul.... :mrgreen: ...!
Win 8.1 64-bit. DX11. Advent Tower. Intel i7-3770 3.9 GHz 8-core. 8 GB System RAM. AMD Radeon HD 7700 1GB RAM. DVD ROM. 2 Terra Byte SATA Hard Drive. Philips 17" LCD Monitor. Saitek Cyborg X Fly-5 Joystick. ...and a Briggs and Stratton Petrol Lawn Mower.
User avatar
Fozzer
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 31070
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 3:11 pm
Location: Hereford. England. EGBS.

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby jrbirdman » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:52 pm

I got it installed okay, I just moved all my stuff to my external HDD. So now I have over 300GB free. If you recall, my big computer has a 1TB HDD, Windows 8.1, 16GB RAM, and even it had the same issue with a different copy of FS2K. I just want to get it running. :( Help me Obi Wan Fozzer, you're my only hope!
User avatar
jrbirdman
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:38 am
Location: KLAS

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby Hagar » Tue Jul 07, 2015 3:53 pm

I remember having problems installing FS2000 when it was first released. If my memory serves me right there was a conflict with my other MS sims installed to the same HDD. I eventually solved it by using the No-CD patch. :naughty:

I agree with Fozzer that FS2000 was a complete waste of space.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34447
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby jrbirdman » Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:13 pm

There is a no cd patch for FS2K?? Where do I find that? Am I missing a service pack or something that would be required to get this to work?
User avatar
jrbirdman
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:38 am
Location: KLAS

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby jrbirdman » Tue Jul 07, 2015 4:38 pm

Waste of space or not, I really want to get this working :( there's gotta be a way
User avatar
jrbirdman
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 407
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2006 7:38 am
Location: KLAS

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby Shane Stachwick » Thu Oct 22, 2015 12:57 pm

I know this is an old thread but I'll try to help you out anyway. Upgrading to a new operating system might not be helpful and may introduce issues with backward compatibility, even with compatibility mode. I would suggest trying to find an older operating system (XP or Windows 2000, for example) that you can run on your current hardware. Although it WILL take up a bit of hard drive space to install a second OS, it should rule out or solve any problems regarding compatibility with the OS. If a new OS doesn't work, I'm afraid that you may have to spring for some older hardware as well.
Shane Stachwick
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:59 pm

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby Shane Stachwick » Thu Oct 22, 2015 12:58 pm

Fozzer wrote:Why FS 2000 Jeremy?... :roll: ...!



2 words, sir: Default Concorde
Shane Stachwick
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2014 10:59 pm

Re: Different OS, same issue

Postby Fozzer » Thu Oct 22, 2015 4:07 pm

I think you are flogging a dead horse with FS 2000, Jeremy!.... ;) ....!

Stick with FS 2002 and FS 2004. I'm sure you can get the "FS2000-type aircraft" for use in FS 2002 and FS 2004!

FS 2002 and FS2004 are much superior, and run fine on most computers!

Paul..... :D ...!
Win 8.1 64-bit. DX11. Advent Tower. Intel i7-3770 3.9 GHz 8-core. 8 GB System RAM. AMD Radeon HD 7700 1GB RAM. DVD ROM. 2 Terra Byte SATA Hard Drive. Philips 17" LCD Monitor. Saitek Cyborg X Fly-5 Joystick. ...and a Briggs and Stratton Petrol Lawn Mower.
User avatar
Fozzer
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 31070
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 3:11 pm
Location: Hereford. England. EGBS.


Return to FS 2000

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 273 guests