USGA screws up, "regrets the distraction"

You asked for it. You got it. Sport talk here!

USGA screws up, "regrets the distraction"

Postby Webb » Mon Jun 20, 2016 8:02 pm

Statement Regarding Dustin Johnson Ruling

The USGA wishes to congratulate Dustin Johnson on his victory and thank him, and the other players in the field, for their professionalism and grace throughout the championship. Dustin is a wonderful champion, a talented golfer and a gentleman.

Our team at the USGA has seen and heard a great deal of discussion and debate about the ruling on Dustin’s ball moving during the final round of the 2016 U.S. Open Championship at Oakmont Country Club. In addition to the explanations we offered upon the conclusion of the final round, we add these comments.

Upon reflection, we regret the distraction caused by our decision to wait until the end of the round to decide on the ruling. It is normal for rulings based on video evidence to await the end of a round, when the matter can be discussed with the player before the score card is returned. While our focus on getting the ruling correct was appropriate, we created uncertainty about where players stood on the leader board after we informed Dustin on the 12th tee that his actions on the fifth green might lead to a penalty. This created unnecessary ambiguity for Dustin and the other players, as well as spectators on-site, and those watching and listening on television and digital channels.

During any competition, the priority for Rules officials is to make the correct ruling for the protection of the player(s) involved and the entire field. In applying Rule 18-2, which deals with a ball at rest that moves, officials consider all the relevant evidence – including the player’s actions, the time between those actions and the movement of the ball, the lie of the ball, and course and weather conditions. If that evidence, considered together, shows that it is more likely than not that the player’s actions caused the ball to move, the player incurs a one-stroke penalty. Officials use this “more likely than not” standard because it is not always apparent what caused the ball to move. Such situations require a review of the evidence, with Decision 18-2/0.5 providing guidance on how the evidence should be weighed.

Our officials reviewed the video of Dustin on the fifth green and determined that based on the weight of the evidence, it was more likely than not that Dustin caused his ball to move. Dustin’s putter contacted the ground at the side of the ball, and almost immediately after, the ball moved.

We accept that not everyone will agree that Dustin caused his ball to move. Issues under Rule 18-2 often require a judgment where there is some uncertainty, and this was one of those instances. We also understand that some people may disagree with Rule 18-2 itself. While we respect the viewpoints of those who disagree, our Committee made a careful and collective judgment in its pursuit of a fair competition played under the Rules of Golf.

In keeping with our commitment to excellence in all aspects of our work on behalf of the game of golf, we pledge to closely examine our procedures in this matter. We will assess our procedures for handling video review, the timing of such, and our communication with players to make sure that when confronted with such a situation again, we will have a better process.

We at the USGA deeply appreciate the support of players, fans, and the entire golf community of our championships and our other work for golf – and we appreciate your feedback as well. We have established an email address (comments@usga.org) and phone mailbox (908-326-1857) to receive comments. We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts.

We all share an abiding love of this great game. Let us continue to work together for its good.

Sounds like a politician. "We regret" instead of "we screwed up, we admit it and we apologize".
"Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell no!" - Sen. John Blutarsky

You know, this used to be a helluva good country. I don't understand what's gone wrong with it. - George Hanson, 1969

A bad day at golf is better than a good day at work.


Image

Jim
User avatar
Webb
Major
Major
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:45 pm
Location: KBCT

Re: USGA screws up, "regrets the distraction"

Postby ViperPilot » Tue Jun 21, 2016 12:38 pm

The USGA, tripping over their own feet in an effort to be 'PC', almost ruined the US Open!

The Rules Official should have told DJ their Ruling, right off the bat. No one needs to have the possibility of a 'potential' Penalty looming over them as they try to win a Major!

Alan :ugeek: :doh:
User avatar
ViperPilot
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:07 pm
Location: 35CO Denver, CO USA

Re: USGA screws up, "regrets the distraction"

Postby Webb » Mon Jul 18, 2016 10:22 pm

Oops, I did it again.

Another clumsy rules situation shrouds USGA in controversy at U.S. Women’s Open

Anna Nordqvist, a Swede looking for her second major title, grazed the sand with her 5-iron when hitting out of a fairway bunker on the par-4 17th. It wasn’t until after Nordqvist hit her third shot into the par-5 18th – a gap wedge from 112 yards – that a USGA official came out to inform Nordqvist of her two-stroke penalty for violating Rule 13-4b.

Brittany Lang, who had yet to hit her approach into the green, was then told of the rules infraction. Now knowing she had a two-stroke advantage, Lang changed her strategy and pulled a longer club.
"Was it over when the Germans bombed Pearl Harbor? Hell no!" - Sen. John Blutarsky

You know, this used to be a helluva good country. I don't understand what's gone wrong with it. - George Hanson, 1969

A bad day at golf is better than a good day at work.


Image

Jim
User avatar
Webb
Major
Major
 
Posts: 2236
Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:45 pm
Location: KBCT

Re: USGA screws up, "regrets the distraction"

Postby ViperPilot » Tue Jul 19, 2016 5:50 pm

Those HD, slow motion Cameras pick up everything! Even though it appeared that Anna dislodged just a few grains of sand with the sole of her club, Rules are Rules...

I lost a 2 ball Match violating the same Rule; it was a hard lesson to learn.

Alan :ugeek: :doh:
User avatar
ViperPilot
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 723
Joined: Mon Jan 25, 2010 2:07 pm
Location: 35CO Denver, CO USA


Return to Sport

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 221 guests