A mechanic never fits anywhere.

If it doesn't fit .. It fits here .. - -

A mechanic never fits anywhere.

Postby Jean Loup » Mon May 15, 2017 4:36 pm

Not saying I am a wonder mechanic: I am siply curious about how moving things work & wear with use (abuse usually). The only way to keep'em working is changing the parts that wear on a regular basis, before something breaks. I also like nature, not a city creature. And there you are in a cattle ranch fixing tractors, when a derelict J-3 Cub converted for fumigation lands in the grass among that cattle, slowing down when one leg just bends sideways & the Cub comes to a stop after half a turn, resting on one wing tip, one main & the tail wheel. After close inpection with the pilot, I notice a broken screw that screwed that 3 point landing: it suported the left bungee. We found it in the local hardware store & was flying again before saying Thank You!

As I have posted some time ago, my flight from Paris to México in January 1956 was in a Connie. When I downloaded an Air France Connie, one that did not have enaugh fuel capacity to cross the Atlantic & had to refuel in the Azores islands, I installed her at Duxford airport for a trial flight.

And lost in the fore ground is a Fordson Tractor!! I became a tractor mechanic for that was the only common machinery to work on & earn a decent living (saving no money for the bank to rob you) besides very few pick-ups & small trucks with dual tires on the rear axle, so I started fixing Blue Fordsons (they were older tan the one in the screen shot: had the main beams on each side of the Hood & were a rounder design), some very old & tough Red Massey Fergussons with leverage plow control & double clutch, a mexican version of a two cilinder air cooled russian tractor painted in Orange, and no John Deer's in spite of being painted in nice ecological Green.