Level of runway

Ask questions about flying techniques here. Real or Simulated - the principles are the same!

Level of runway

Postby JakesF14 » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:26 am

How does one get the level of the runway above sea level? For example, when I take off at FAOB, the level is 100 feet or so ASL, and arriving in FAWK, the level of the runway is approx 6500ASL. Now where does one get that levels, except for airport charts? ( I do not always have Internet to download airport charts)
Last edited by JakesF14 on Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
JakesF14
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1891
Joined: Wed May 13, 2009 5:42 am
Location: South Africa

Re: Level of runway

Postby Strategic Retreat » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:32 am

Go on the default FS map and click on the airport you wish to have informations about, a window will open with all info on the airport, among which there will be the elevation ASL of the airport and consequently its runway(s).
Last edited by Strategic Retreat on Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
There is no such a thing as overkill. Only unworthy targets.
Strategic Retreat
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 643
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:40 am

Re: Level of runway

Postby Rocket_Bird » Mon Jun 27, 2011 10:28 pm

The proper way real-life method is via charts.  That said, in the sim, you can pretty much dial in your airport code in the GPS and turn a few knobs to see information of a particular airport.  That is, if you don't want to use the built in map.  Also, if you filed a flight plan in the sim, you can also see the height of your destination airport in your nav log (kneeboard). 
Cheers,
RB

Image
User avatar
Rocket_Bird
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1223
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Level of runway

Postby Mictheslik » Tue Jun 28, 2011 4:50 pm

Listen to the ATIS, set QFE and note down altitude, then set QNH and note down altitude. Height of airfield is the difference :)

.mic
[center]Image
User avatar
Mictheslik
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6009
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2005 11:32 am
Location: Bristol, England

Re: Level of runway

Postby Mazza » Thu Sep 08, 2011 7:47 am

Charts are very very helpful, I suggest getting charts for the 'regular' aerodromes you visit.
Sunset Chasing...RULES
Image
AMD 9550 2.43 X4 - 2Gb RAM 800Mhz DDRII - Asus 4670
Corsair TX-750W
User avatar
Mazza
Major
Major
 
Posts: 3181
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2007 12:10 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia.

Re: Level of runway

Postby BE58D » Sun Sep 23, 2012 9:43 pm

Charts are useful.  Keep in mind, when listening to the ATIS and getting altimeter setting, it will not be the exact runway height as most likely the reporting station isn't sitting next to runway.  Also keep in mind with charts, the reported field elevation is the highest point on the airport.
HP Pavillion = p7-1233w
3.20GHz Processor
24GB of RAM (Windows 7 Home Premium only allows for 16GB though) :'(
Radeon 7560D - 4059MB
1TB SATA Internal Hard Drive
User avatar
BE58D
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1615
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 12:50 pm
Location: KAPC

Re: Level of runway

Postby aeroart » Mon Sep 24, 2012 7:20 pm

Instrument approach charts will give you the height of the touchdown zone for the runway to which the approach applies. It's the number after TDZE.

Art
User avatar
aeroart
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2009 7:30 pm
Location: Michigan


Return to Flight School

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 68 guests