ILS pattern speeds

Ask questions about flying techniques here. Real or Simulated - the principles are the same!

ILS pattern speeds

Postby snippyfsxer » Fri Nov 20, 2009 9:46 pm

I'm not a real world pilot, only a fake one, so I pose this question to those who are:

Using a generic Twin Engine GA aircraft:
Using a generic pattern that has a procedure turn and a LOM:
What speeds (Vso reference is fine) should I aim for as I approach the IAF?
As I enter the procedure turn?
Approaching the FAF?
Final approach to threshold?
general flap deployments (i.e first notch, at the turn outbound, or whatever)?

I know this is an extraordinarily general question, but there must be some rule of thumb.
Last edited by snippyfsxer on Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
snippyfsxer
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant

Re: ILS pattern speeds

Postby Mobius » Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:48 pm

I have no twin experience, but in 172s, I usually fly everything after the IAF and until the last few hundred feet at 90 kts because it's easy to figure out time to distance calcs in my head (@90kts: 1.5nm per 1 min), and MAP timing is done at 30kt intervals starting at 60 kts (up to 180 kts), so you don't have to try to figure out the timing if you're flying at something in-between.
Last edited by Mobius on Fri Nov 20, 2009 10:50 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mobius
Major
Major

Postby Splinter562 » Fri Nov 20, 2009 11:30 pm

I'm in nearly the same camp as Mobius for light GA. I fly most of the approach at cruise speed. Full approaches are a nearly a cross country in and of themselves, so it's best to setup for a cruise configuration.