Engine failure with the tubes

Ask questions about flying techniques here. Real or Simulated - the principles are the same!

Engine failure with the tubes

Postby Stewy44 » Sun Mar 07, 2010 1:28 am

G'day guys,

I know this has been covered 1000s of times before - but I'm a noob.  I've been experimenting with engine failures and wanted to know a few things about descent and approach speeds and emergency procedures (in FS9)

I experimented with an engine-failure in the df 737 while flying from Moscow to Talinn - failure occured over western Russia.

Mistake 1 - I decided to divert to Pskov (where the visibility was like pea soup
Mistake 2 - didn't calculate my descent properly and spent too much time at low altitude
Mistake 3 - used too much flaps and the plane decelerated and fell from the sky :o

Should I have kept going to Talinn where I could have utilised an ILS and had better visibility instead of diverting to Pskov - or do procedures dictate that I "have" to get the jet 'on the ground' asap?

What are the rules regarding flaps settings?  I found out (the hard way) that too much flap will kill airspeed - should single engine approaches be faster and with less flaps than two-engine approaches?  Should I also have dumped most of my fuel too?   

Are there any articles to read about engine failure?

Thanks very much guys

Stew
FS9 - the only way you can fly a 747 while drinking beer
Stewy44
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant

Re: Engine failure with the tubes

Postby C » Sun Mar 07, 2010 4:30 am

Hi Stew,

Without being 737 specific, there are a few things to consider.