Hiya folks! New and have a couple questions!

Ask questions about flying techniques here. Real or Simulated - the principles are the same!

Hiya folks! New and have a couple questions!

Postby rmacttu » Sun Aug 30, 2009 9:59 am

Alright guys, I'll admit that I'm a novice at best and don't understand all the terminology(maybe 60-70% of it) used both in the real world and the game.
rmacttu
Ground hog
Ground hog

Re: Hiya folks! New and have a couple questions!

Postby olderndirt » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:15 am

Recalling from a previous life, wind speed less than 10 kts is not a factor in deciding the 'runway in use'.
Last edited by olderndirt on Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
[img]http://www.simviation.com/yabbuploads/oldrt18.jpg
olderndirt
Major
Major

Postby Brett_Henderson » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:37 am

This stuff gets into ATC nuances that FSX just can't replicate...

That aside, there are too many variables to answer these questions in relationship to "realism".

For example.. A VOR approach under VFR conditions can be executed as a "circle to land".. meaning, ATC will still vector you per your original flight plan and original runway, and then allow you to land on the runway of your choice. Even under non-VFR conditions, if certain visibility minimums are met, ANY instrument approach can end up as a "circle to land".
Brett_Henderson
Major
Major

Postby Brett_Henderson » Sun Aug 30, 2009 10:39 am

LOL @  "fly  in the ointment"   :D ;D
Brett_Henderson
Major
Major

Postby rmacttu » Sun Aug 30, 2009 11:13 am

[quote]This stuff gets into ATC nuances that FSX just can't replicate...

That aside, there are too many variables to answer these questions in relationship to "realism".