University or College Degree

Ask questions about flying techniques here. Real or Simulated - the principles are the same!

Re: University or College Degree

Postby Mictheslik » Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:02 pm

I would definitely go and get a degree....it's essential as something to fall back on if some unforseen circumstance stops you from being a pilot (especially in the current economic climate ;) )

.mic
[center]Image
Mictheslik
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel

Postby HSUred » Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:49 am

Hi Nigel,

I'm a collegiate flight instructor and I train young people to get the airline jobs that I couldn't get when I was in my twenties. I got my pilot ratings first and didn't start college until "late" in my thirties--I just want to recommend DON'T do it that way--it has been tough! I love instructing, and I am fortunate to have found a career position. However, if I had gone to college when I was younger I'd be an airline captain by now. Some people will tell you that you can do it without a college degree, and yes it's possible but not a good idea. Some are just trying to get your business, which is fine if you just want to learn to fly, but not the best way to go if it's a career you're looking for.

If you can afford college then by all means do it. There are lots of universities that have aviation programs. I recommend you check AOPA flight training website; they can provide you with all the information you need as well as a list of collegiate aviation programs.

By the way, most college aviation programs use their students as part-time instructors once they get their CFI rating. It sure beats working at the local fastfood restaurant.
HSUred
Ground hog
Ground hog

Postby Sean_TK » Thu Jan 29, 2009 12:07 pm