how to ease up on controls?

Ask questions about flying techniques here. Real or Simulated - the principles are the same!

how to ease up on controls?

Postby Craig. » Thu Jan 09, 2003 2:34 pm

i was just wondering if anyone could give me some advice on how to ease up my grip on the controls? i have asked my instructor but he hasnt been able to come up with anything that works and its really starting to be a factor especially in take offs.
thanks for any advice
Craig
Craig.
Colonel
Colonel

Re: how to ease up on controls?

Postby ozzy72 » Thu Jan 09, 2003 3:28 pm

Craig what do you mean ease up? Use the controls less aggressively or just hold them more gently?
With input, the way I found was to stop pretending I was a fighter pilot and think of the airplane like a woman (they never like it rough).
If its a gripping the controls issue. Get some good leather gloves, like driving ones, or if you can afford it RAF aircrew ones that are a nice tight (but not restrictive) fit. You'll find you feel much more comfortable, and you don't need to grip so hard as the stick doesn't get all sweaty, and therefore your muscles are more relaxed and you fly more gently.

Ozzy
There are two types of aeroplane, Spitfires and everything else that wishes it was a Spitfire!
ozzy72
Administrator
Administrator

Postby Craig. » Thu Jan 09, 2003 3:48 pm

:) it was the gripping issue. thanks for the advice i'll give the gloves a try. My dad works for the MOD at RNAS Yeovilton so i'll see if he can get me a pair from there.
thanks again for the advice much appreciated
Craig
Craig.
Colonel
Colonel

Postby ozzy72 » Sat Jan 11, 2003 1:54 pm

You're welcome Craig. If you can get free ones....

Ozzy ;D
There are two types of aeroplane, Spitfires and everything else that wishes it was a Spitfire!
ozzy72
Administrator
Administrator

Postby Craig. » Wed Jan 15, 2003 7:28 pm