Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

FSX including FSX Steam version.

Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

Postby Ghostrider114 » Sat Jan 20, 2018 10:58 pm

I'm not sure if this is a bug or something I just don't understand about flying helos. Sometimes the throttle seems to act normally, ie. pushing the throttle up makes RPMs go up and makes the helicopter go up. But then sometimes when I push the throttle up to full the rotor just stops. Sometimes it's a gradual reduction of blade RPM and I can safely land before it dies, usually it just stops dead in mid air. Restarting the engine doesn't seem to help.
User avatar
Ghostrider114
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Local Airport: KHIO

Re: Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

Postby cevans » Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:37 am

Looks like the guy who replied is a spammer. Hopefully mods will delete that guy :roll:


Depends on the chopper you are using. You probably need to mention what aircraft you are using. Usually the 'throttle' on your joystick acts as collective and throttle.
It should not cut out during flight and if it does you may want to pause and go back as autorotation in FSX is not good!! :lol:
cevans
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Dec 22, 2015 3:27 pm

Re: Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

Postby pete » Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:40 am

Spam went un noticed. Sorry I missed that one as it was posted in Flight School. That is a board probably best to merge with FSX.
Men don't care what's on TV. They only care what else is on TV.
::: Jerry Seinfeld
User avatar
pete
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10122
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

Postby Ghostrider114 » Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:07 am

thanks for the reply. It seems to happen more often in addon helos rather then the default R22, B206 and EH101, but that might just be because I'm more likely to fly those. As I understand all Helos in FSX use the same flight model, right? So it should effect them all equally.

It does seem to happen most often when I'm moving the throttle.
User avatar
Ghostrider114
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2005 4:42 pm
Location: Local Airport: KHIO

Re: Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

Postby pete » Thu Sep 06, 2018 5:28 am

Ghostrider114 wrote:thanks for the reply. It seems to happen more often in addon helos rather then the default R22, B206 and EH101, but that might just be because I'm more likely to fly those. As I understand all Helos in FSX use the same flight model, right? So it should effect them all equally.

It does seem to happen most often when I'm moving the throttle.


Hi
No not all helo's in FSX (or earlier FS versions) use the same flight model. They may be based on a basic flight model (like most a/c) but many edits /mods have been made over time making some easy to fly in FS and some not at all. In addition you can find autohover gauges etc

Like cevans above said. If you say what helo you are having trouble with someone can look at it (unless it's a payware version where someone who has that might be able to help or you can ask/search on the vendor forums)
Men don't care what's on TV. They only care what else is on TV.
::: Jerry Seinfeld
User avatar
pete
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 10122
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2001 2:01 am
Location: Cloud Cuckoo Land

Re: Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

Postby Daube » Thu Sep 06, 2018 9:14 am

I have seen this problem a few times, and it was always for similar reasons:
- the helicopter had several engines, and only one was turned on
- in case of piston engine, the RPM settings were not set properly
Check if all is *really* turned on as it should, and check if all gauges are in the green, prior to takeoff :)
Which helicopter was it ?
User avatar
Daube
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6308
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Nice (FR)

Re: Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

Postby Nighthawk117 » Thu Sep 06, 2018 10:29 am

when in doubt ctrl e
Image
User avatar
Nighthawk117
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:26 pm
Location: Oxford New York

Re: Helicopter throttle confusion in FSX:SE

Postby tjitah » Thu Sep 06, 2018 2:13 pm

I've had similar problem with add-on helicopters. I'm not a chopper pilot in real life and my knowledge may be sketchy, but as far as I know, the helicopter throttle needs to be set at or near max RPM and left there. The vertical and forward speed is then controlled with the collective only, ie the pitch of the blades. Some helicopters have a governor, which automatically adjusts throttle to pitch and speed but it will still need a full throttle setting to start off with. But you probably know all of that and are just struggling with the engines cutting out, right?.

Now, here is what I found with some add-on helicopters. Even if you increase the throttle as much as you can with your mapped joystick control or F4 key, the engines still cut out when you try to lift off. I found by pure coincidence that the throttle lever(s) in the cockpit needs another nudge with the mouse to lock into full power. If you're flying with 3D or virtual cockpit, this step will make your life a lot easier. Look around until you find the throttle lever(s) and click (and hold) on them with your mouse and physically move/drag or rotate them with mouse scroll wheel until they move fully forward. Most of the time you will see the motion. Once you're at full RPM, leave the throttle alone! and only fly with collective from there on as the engine needs consistent max RPM to deliver enough power to the blades once you start changing the pitch for lift off etc.

Hope that works for you, it solved my problems 9 out of 10 times.
i7-4790K @ 4.6 GHz, ASUS Maximus VII Gene, GTX 1070 8GB, 16GB DDR3 2400MHz, ASUS PG348Q 34" 3440x1440 monitor, CH Products Fighterstick, Pro Throttle and Pro Pedals, Track IR 5, Oculus Rift, Windows 7 64-bit
tjitah
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2017 6:53 am
Location: South Africa


Return to Flight Simulator X (FSX) and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 116 guests