XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

FSX including FSX Steam version.

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby AviationGuy » Mon Jun 09, 2008 3:38 pm

So, would you recommend me buying XP Home, or maybe just reinstalling Windows with the disks I have, and skipping the offline defrag?

Thanks for your help.
AviationGuy
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:43 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby NickN » Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:30 pm

That is going to have to be your call because I have no experience with Media Center and can not advise correctly around it
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby FullSky » Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:46 pm

Hi Nick,

When you go to the microsoft link you showed earlier in this thread that details this issue, there is a hotfix available there, dated 6-sep-2007.

Can we assume that this hotfix fixes this issue on systems that manifest this problem?

Thanks,

Carey
680i mb \ QX6700 @3Ghz \ 4GB PC2-6400 \ EVGA 8800 GTX 768mb \ WD320, WD250 \ Gigabyte Aurora 570 tower \ ViewSonic 22" VG2230wm \ PC Power & Cooling Silencer 750W \ XP Pro SP2
FullSky
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 1:19 am
Location: Dana Point, CA

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby NickN » Mon Jun 09, 2008 9:22 pm

There is no link to a hotfix for this.. you must contact MS to get the file they post

and

The hotfix file does not work for everyone.. the main problem is the HAL does not update correctly with the right filein that KB with the SP2 web upgrade if your Sp1 install falls under certain criteria.. so the fix is to use the web based SP2 download to create a WinXP SP2 slipstream disk and then wipe/ install clean to be sure it takes.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby NickN » Sat Jun 14, 2008 11:36 am

Copy of another post that links to just about everything one needs...


This was a joke.. but the linkage is good





==================================================================






The MSFS USER Commandments



Thou Shalt research and purchase the correct parts to do the job

http://blogs.msdn.com/ptaylor/archive/2 ... atman.aspx






Thou Shalt not complain if thy hardware is cheap or incorrect




Thou Shalt set up thy computer hardware correctly

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 97380641#2

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 08959973#5

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 08959973#3





Thou Shalt set up thy Windows version correctly

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 1208959973





Thou Shalt use good security software that does not hinder thy system

http://www.eset.com





Thou Shalt not tweak with things thy find on the internet without knowing what they do.
(and many of them do nothing)


http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 3028653/15

Unless you know exactly what you are doing... Stay Away = http://www.blackviper.com/






Thou Shalt install and set up MSFS correctly based on thy version and hardware


http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 97380641#1

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 97380641#6

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 5673302#14

http://forums.avsim.net/dcboard.php?az= ... 662&page=7

http://www.simforums.com/forums/forum_p ... ?TID=26434






Thou Shalt update and maintenance thy computer and FSX install correctly and regularly as needed

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 08959973#1

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 08959973#2

http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 7380641#11

http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com/






Thou Shalt set the frame lock based on how smooth MSFS runs, not by the number







Thou Shalt NOT STARE AT THE FRAME COUNTER
or thy eyes will burn in everlasting torment
















...and if you are still having trouble... ask in the forums but if all else fails...
Last edited by NickN on Sat Jun 14, 2008 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby NickN » Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:30 pm

A good thread to read all the way to the end about settings and how LOWER settings can be WORSE than higher settings


http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 1212634135
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby Daube » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:50 am


A good thread to read all the way to the end about settings and how LOWER settings can be WORSE than higher settings


http://forums.simviation.com/cgi-bin/ya ... 1212634135


Nick, I have a question concerning some of the advises you are giving in that topic linked above. You stated that you are using a Bufferpools set to 70.000.000 up to 100.000.000, because you have a 768 Mb RAM video card.

I have a 8800 GTX with 768 Mb of RAM on it too. My BufferPools is currently set to 8.000.000 and it works OK. However, as soon as I try to set it to 80.000.000, I get corrupted 3D models in the sim, as soon as in the preview window of the main menu. What could be the problem ?

Win XP SP2, motherboard drivers installed, DirectX 9.0c just updated (june 2008), forceware 169.44. The sim has quite good performance and no display or instability issues at all, so I was wondering what was happening...
Last edited by Daube on Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Daube
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6396
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Nice (FR)

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby NickN » Sun Jun 22, 2008 10:34 am


A good thread to read all the way to the end about settings and how LOWER settings can be WORSE than higher settings


http://www.simviation.com/cgi-bin/yabb2 ... 1212634135


Nick, I have a question concerning some of the advises you are giving in that topic linked above. You stated that you are using a Bufferpools set to 70.000.000 up to 100.000.000, because you have a 768 Mb RAM video card.

I have a 8800 GTX with 768 Mb of RAM on it too. My BufferPools is currently set to 8.000.000 and it works OK. However, as soon as I try to set it to 80.000.000, I get corrupted 3D models in the sim, as soon as in the preview window of the main menu. What could be the problem ?

Win XP SP2, motherboard drivers installed, DirectX 9.0c just updated (june 2008), forceware 169.44. The sim has quite good performance and no display or instability issues at all, so I was wondering what was happening...



FSX will only use 512MB of memory.. the rest goes to other things like bufferpools and the 2nd monitor however you do need to make sure to not go too high with that setting because you can start to see graphic 'spikes' like a video card memory is overclocked too much. I run 70000000 to 100000000 because I have a 768MB video card and can do that.


Apparently something about the system does not like the increased reserved memory. That setting is a 'by system' adjustment too where some will see benefit and others will not. In your case it could be the drivers which are actually old, or, something about the chipset register/BIOS that does not work well with that setting so high. I suggest you find the highest value that works stable and test it. Multi monitor may not like higher bufferpool settings because you are cutting into the frame buffer with more than one.

Just because myself and others find the setting works does not mean everyone will. Its just like frame lock. I have seen slower systems run better with the frame lock set to unlimited all the time and others must remain locked at all times. There is nothing set in stone about this title because of the number of variables in systems and drivers out there and how they designed the software. What I posted is a guideline and directions to try in testing however the user must find the values that work best on their own. The testing routine I posted should get you where you need to be but it can be a royal pain in the arse for some hours while working it all out.
Last edited by NickN on Sun Jun 22, 2008 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby Daube » Sun Jun 22, 2008 12:37 pm

Ok I just wanted to check.
I tried the 175.80 drivers and the problem is still there. I switched back to the previous bufferpools value which works quite well anyway. I will perform some additionnal tests later to find a better value, but there's no need to hurry right now :)
User avatar
Daube
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6396
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 8:34 am
Location: Nice (FR)

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby AviationGuy » Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:34 pm

Hey Nick, I reinstalled Windows, applied the tweaks (skipped the offline defrag), and FSX is running like a dream, as you can see from this screenshot.

Image

I've noticed you've told a few people, from what I've seen, to download this patch, and I'm wondering if it's something that would help my system as well. I'm running an Intel E6600 Core 2 Duo processor.

Thanks!
Last edited by AviationGuy on Mon Jun 23, 2008 8:43 am, edited 1 time in total.
AviationGuy
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jun 03, 2008 5:43 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby NickN » Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:45 pm

If you are on XP SP2, yes install the patch.. if SP3 you already have the patch Media center I do not know.. it wont hurt to try to install it and if its already installed from a Windows update then it will tell you its not needed


BTW.. they dont allow linked images here.. you need to upload the pic to simV and use the code they provide to display


Great shot! and congrats!.. enjoy the sim performance
Last edited by NickN on Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby macca22au » Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:51 pm

I accidentally put an extra nought into my bufferpool size in my cfg file.

At 240,000,000 it corrupted my 3D aircraft something horrible.  I wept, then found out what was wrong, had a relieving hysterical shriek of laughter and made the change back.

However I have found a number below 100,000.000 works better for me - even down toward the 8-10,000.000 range.
macca22au
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 892
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 8:00 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby NickN » Sun Jun 22, 2008 7:58 pm

[quote]I accidentally put an extra nought into my bufferpool size in my cfg file.

At 240,000,000 it corrupted my 3D aircraft something horrible.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby DocW » Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:05 am

Copy of another post that links to just about everything one needs...


Thou Shalt use good security software that does not hinder thy system

www.eset.com



I followed the steps at the start of the thread. Thank you. I am no technical geek and you helped me to reach a system state I would be unable to attain otherwise, since it takes years of research, trial and error and experience to come to your recommendations.
Thank you again.
I'd like to ask it ESET is *the* scanner to use, or if there are any (free?) alternatives around.

Michael
Last edited by DocW on Mon Jun 23, 2008 9:06 am, edited 1 time in total.
DocW
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 3:57 am

Re: XP/Windows Setup, System Optimizing and Drivers

Postby NickN » Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:11 pm

The ESET AV (NOD32) is the best money can buy... not the full security package, just the AV product is all you need. With that protection you will not get the footprint on the system most others place on it and with that, you get performance.. so its up to you

at the same time.. freeware, you get what you pay for is a good way of explaining however if I had to lower my standards it would probably be AVG or AVAST

but I wont lower my standards... if you trust the list I posted, trust my AV suggestion
Last edited by NickN on Mon Jun 23, 2008 10:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
NickN
Lieutenant Colonel
Lieutenant Colonel
 
Posts: 6317
Joined: Mon Sep 05, 2005 12:57 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Flight Simulator X (FSX) and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 172 guests