lights issue

FSX including FSX Steam version.

lights issue

Postby phat_guy_316 » Fri Jan 22, 2021 10:08 am

so, i recently downloaded fsx as my pc is not able to handle the new fs2020...anywho, i noticed that the strobe lights are tied in with the landing lights. i turn off the landing lights..guess what..no strobes.. how do i seperate the two from one another. also..i purchased fsx cabin crew however my pc blocked it stating it was unsafe. did i just throw $25 out the window or is there a free version i can get from somewhere
phat_guy_316
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 10:02 am

Re: lights issue

Postby striker » Fri Jan 22, 2021 11:53 am

Hi

Welcome! <<r

You will find different aircraft are very different. Controls, performance, flight dynamics, etc , oh , and lights , :D are part of the model design.

What aircraft are you talking about?
User avatar
striker
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 241
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2002 3:18 pm
Location: Wilmington, NC

Re: lights issue

Postby phat_guy_316 » Fri Jan 22, 2021 7:37 pm

striker wrote:Hi

Welcome! <<r

You will find different aircraft are very different. Controls, performance, flight dynamics, etc , oh , and lights , :D are part of the model design.

What aircraft are you talking about?


well so far, its been the cessna skayhawk 172, but i did also notice it on the diamond da40 i downloaded(payware)
phat_guy_316
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 10:02 am

Re: lights issue

Postby Hagar » Sat Jan 23, 2021 4:51 am

As striker said all aircraft will vary. On the default C172 the light switches are at bottom left on the main 2D panel.
Image

They're hidden by the yoke in VC view
Image

but you can toggle different views with the A key.
Image

Image

Hope this helps
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 30807
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: lights issue

Postby TextRich » Sat Jan 23, 2021 7:35 am

Some aircraft just did not model lighting properly even if you have the correct switches on - default and third party. I personally just focus on the switches and I only worry about actually see lighting if I need taxiing or landing lights for night flights.
TextRich
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2021 5:17 pm

Re: lights issue

Postby Hagar » Sat Jan 23, 2021 7:48 am

I've since discovered that the white tail light on the C172 is connected with the landing light. I think that must be defined in the MDL file so I can't fix it.
However, I've quickly given it a white nav light by adding the line in Bold type to the LIGHTS section in Aircraft.cfg

[LIGHTS]
//Types: 1=beacon, 2=strobe, 3=navigation, 4=cockpit
light.0 = 3, -2.76, -18.11, 2.97, fx_navred
light.1 = 3, -2.78, 18.11, 2.95, fx_navgre
light.2 = 2, -3.13, -18.31, 2.95, fx_strobe
light.3 = 2, -3.11, 18.31, 2.95, fx_strobe
light.4 = 1, -20.51, 0.00, 6.20, fx_beacon
//light.5 = 4, -2.27, 0.00, 1.45, fx_vclight
light.5 =3, -22.551000, 0.000000, 5.7, fx_navwhi

Image
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 30807
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: lights issue

Postby phat_guy_316 » Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:40 am

Hagar wrote:I've since discovered that the white tail light on the C172 is connected with the landing light. I think that must be defined in the MDL file so I can't fix it.
However, I've quickly given it a white nav light by adding the line in Bold type to the LIGHTS section in Aircraft.cfg

[LIGHTS]
//Types: 1=beacon, 2=strobe, 3=navigation, 4=cockpit
light.0 = 3, -2.76, -18.11, 2.97, fx_navred
light.1 = 3, -2.78, 18.11, 2.95, fx_navgre
light.2 = 2, -3.13, -18.31, 2.95, fx_strobe
light.3 = 2, -3.11, 18.31, 2.95, fx_strobe
light.4 = 1, -20.51, 0.00, 6.20, fx_beacon
//light.5 = 4, -2.27, 0.00, 1.45, fx_vclight
light.5 =3, -22.551000, 0.000000, 5.7, fx_navwhi

Image


ine works just fine. its the strobes that dont work unless i have the landing lights on. ehh so be it. guess ill have to fly it with the landing lights on.
phat_guy_316
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 10:02 am

Re: lights issue

Postby phat_guy_316 » Mon Jan 25, 2021 10:42 am

Hagar wrote:As striker said all aircraft will vary. On the default C172 the light switches are at bottom left on the main 2D panel.
Image

They're hidden by the yoke in VC view
Image

but you can toggle different views with the A key.
Image

Image

Hope this helps



ik where the switches are. the problem is that the strobes dont work unless i have the landing lights on. untill its fixed, ill be flying with the landing lights on i guess
phat_guy_316
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Jan 22, 2021 10:02 am

Re: lights issue

Postby garymbuska » Sat Jan 30, 2021 1:44 pm

You will also discover that there are some free ware aircraft that have the strobe lights tied in with the navigation lights.
What each switch controls what is decided by the designer at the time they build the aircraft.
As a rule of thumb one can not alter the model file without having the original file that was used to make it. And the only way would be if the original designer gave you that file
As stated by others some aircraft lights are part of the model file and there is no way you can alter those. But you can add some lights and you can also change the light that is being used 8-)
Gary M Buska
SYSTEM Specs ASUS P8Z68 V/GEN 3 mother board: INTELL I7 2600k 3.48 ghz Quad core CPU with Sandy bridge: 12 Gigs of 1800hz ram:
GTX 950 OVER CLOCKED: 2 Gigs Ram Windows 10 Home 64 bit Operating system. 750W Dedicated modular power supply. Two Internal 1TB hard drives 1 External 1TB 3.2 USB hard drive. SAITEK Cessna flight Yoke with throttles.
CH Rudder Peddles 27 inch Wide screen Monitor
User avatar
garymbuska
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4414
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 11:10 am
Location: Jacksonville, Florida


Return to Flight Simulator X (FSX) and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 141 guests