My hanger is so full it takes forever to get into it.

FSX including FSX Steam version.

Re: My hanger is so full it takes forever to get into it.

Postby papituwall » Thu May 21, 2020 9:04 am

Some FS9 ported aircraft and some FSX native but old don't show properly in DirectX10 mode, for that Steve's DX10 fixer is required.
User avatar
papituwall
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 730
Joined: Thu Sep 19, 2013 1:42 pm
Location: LEZG

Re: My hanger is so full it takes forever to get into it.

Postby Hagar » Thu May 21, 2020 9:05 am

Adrian39 wrote:Preview DirectX10 is checked. I don't know what the significance of 'preview' is!

The simple answer is: Disable the DirectX10 Preview mode. The aircraft you're having problems with are most likely FS9 models.

My reply here explains it --> https://forums.simviation.com/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=180154&p=1312913&hilit=directx10#p1312913
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34802
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: My hanger is so full it takes forever to get into it.

Postby Adrian39 » Thu May 21, 2020 4:00 pm

This is getting me down. I am no newby but have contibuted to this forum for a number of years under the username E.E. I have converted old files to FSX on many occasions and sucessfully but this snag has me beat. Taking the Sud Est Caravelle as an example - it's an FSX file but the single texture supplied as 'Inter' just doesn't appear. Yet the JBK Viscount files appear as normal though several others dont. I can't see the error in the aircraft config file so what's happening? Help much appreciated.
Adrian39
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 8:11 am

Re: My hanger is so full it takes forever to get into it.

Postby Hagar » Thu May 21, 2020 5:33 pm

I presume you mean this file --> https://simviation.com/1/search?submit=1&keywords=Sud_Aviation_Caravelle.zip&categoryId=&filename=Y

If you read my answer from the link in my previous reply you will see that it has BMP textures & the MDL8MDLH entry in the first line of the MDL file.

Image

This means that it's an FS9 model configured for FSX. Disable the Preview DirectX 10 option from FSX Display settings for the textures to show up.

Image

Image

The JBK Viscount is a Native FSX model.

Image
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34802
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: My hanger is so full it takes forever to get into it.

Postby Adrian39 » Fri May 22, 2020 2:05 pm

Thanks hagar, you've sorted it out for me. Now I see the explanation I remember having the same trouble years ago when my username was E.E. The problem must come up so often that it warrants being in what I believe is called a sticky. Whatever, you'll know what I mean. I thank you.
Adrian39
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 8:11 am

Re: My hanger is so full it takes forever to get into it.

Postby EVVFCX » Fri May 22, 2020 7:25 pm

Hi,
Many moons ago, I wrote a short bat file for somebody here wanting to limit their hanger size.
To stop an aircraft from appearing you only need to rename the panel folder as long as you don't have other aircraft aliased to it.

regards

Steve
May the Mynd be with you.
So far my number of landings either passenger or pilot equal my number of takeoffs.

FSX Gold & P3D V4
User avatar
EVVFCX
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 718
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire

Re: My hanger is so full it takes forever to get into it.

Postby Adrian39 » Sun May 24, 2020 3:54 pm

I took note of all the comments, un-checked DX10 preview and the Caravelle displayed in all its finery. I then closed FSX. When I started it again and checked the Caravelle my screen went blank. The only way I could get the display back was to log-out and then log-in. I opened FSX and tried the microlight ... blank screen! I won't go on it's boring. What happened this time?
Adrian39
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 8:11 am

Previous

Return to Flight Simulator X (FSX) and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 183 guests