So, joystick question...

FSX including FSX Steam version.

So, joystick question...

Postby Travis » Mon Jul 15, 2019 4:06 am

Just got back to swimming from a long hiatus. Got a Saitek X52 and I'm curious as to whether using the control overlay provided is better, or to use the FS assignment system.
User avatar
Travis
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4606
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 3:17 am
Location: KAUS - 30 MI NW

Re: So, joystick question...

Postby garymbuska » Mon Jul 15, 2019 8:04 am

Travis wrote:Just got back to swimming from a long hiatus. Got a Saitek X52 and I'm curious as to whether using the control overlay provided is better, or to use the FS assignment system.


In most cases like this it is better to stick with what you know will work rather than to try any other method.
When it come to assigning keystrokes to a particular function you have to make sure that the keystroke is not being used by something you might need.
Myself I do not have any Rotor craft on my system so I do not worry about changing an assignment that was used to control rotor lock .
But this just what I do
But I will caution you if you buy payware aircraft some of them will use assignments that must be there in order for it to function correctly.
So be care full when changing any default assignment.
I keep a note pad entry of all my keystroke assignments so I know what does what. 8-)
Gary M Buska
SYSTEM Specs ASUS P8Z68 V/GEN 3 mother board: INTELL I7 2600k 3.48 ghz Quad core CPU with Sandy bridge: 12 Gigs of 1800hz ram:
GTX 950 OVER CLOCKED: 2 Gigs Ram Windows 10 Home 64 bit Operating system. 750W Dedicated modular power supply. Two Internal 1TB hard drives 1 External 1TB 3.2 USB hard drive. SAITEK Cessna flight Yoke with throttles.
CH Rudder Peddles 27 inch Wide screen Monitor
User avatar
garymbuska
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4400
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 11:10 am
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Re: So, joystick question...

Postby Travis » Tue Jul 16, 2019 7:29 am

Well, I went ahead and committed to the programming software, since I can create macros with it. But a new question: what would be the order of button presses for opening any and all exterior hatches? And also, how many are programmed into the sim?

Shift+E, Shift+E 2, Shift+E 3, etc?

OR

Shift+E, 2, 3, etc?
User avatar
Travis
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4606
Joined: Thu Feb 06, 2003 3:17 am
Location: KAUS - 30 MI NW

Re: So, joystick question...

Postby Nighthawk117 » Tue Jul 16, 2019 4:48 pm

Travis wrote:Well, I went ahead and committed to the programming software, since I can create macros with it. But a new question: what would be the order of button presses for opening any and all exterior hatches? And also, how many are programmed into the sim?

Shift+E, Shift+E 2, Shift+E 3, etc?

OR

Shift+E, 2, 3, etc?



Shift+E, Shift+E 2, Shift+E 3, etc is the way it works however to answer your 2nd question it depends on aircraft. I have an AAL 747-823F and uses 4 if not 5 key door assignments

Shift+E, Shift+E 2, Shift+E 3, Shift+E 4, Shift+E 5
Image
User avatar
Nighthawk117
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Thu Jan 18, 2018 6:26 pm
Location: Oxford New York

Re: So, joystick question...

Postby garymbuska » Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:03 am

Nighthawk is correct every aircraft designer has there own way of doing things some aircraft will use the Wing_fold and Tailhook assignments to open and close certain doors.

And as I stated earlier payware aircraft can be unique and need certain keystrokes to do certain functions which is why you have to be careful when changing any assignment.
Gary M Buska
SYSTEM Specs ASUS P8Z68 V/GEN 3 mother board: INTELL I7 2600k 3.48 ghz Quad core CPU with Sandy bridge: 12 Gigs of 1800hz ram:
GTX 950 OVER CLOCKED: 2 Gigs Ram Windows 10 Home 64 bit Operating system. 750W Dedicated modular power supply. Two Internal 1TB hard drives 1 External 1TB 3.2 USB hard drive. SAITEK Cessna flight Yoke with throttles.
CH Rudder Peddles 27 inch Wide screen Monitor
User avatar
garymbuska
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4400
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 11:10 am
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Re: So, joystick question...

Postby EVVFCX » Sat Jul 27, 2019 5:06 pm

Hi,
The simple way to not losing assignments whilst changing aircraft is not to use FSX assignment but to use a registered version of FSUIPC, as you change aircraft it will load up the control profile for whatever aircraft you've changed to, you do have to set them up in the first place but at least you don't normally lose them.

regards

Steve
May the Mynd be with you.
So far my number of landings either passenger or pilot equal my number of takeoffs.

FSX Gold & P3D V4
User avatar
EVVFCX
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 716
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:32 am
Location: Pontefract, West Yorkshire


Return to Flight Simulator X (FSX) and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mmurphy77 and 224 guests