I'm an oldie, but trying to come back! NEED FSX HELP!!

FSX including FSX Steam version.

I'm an oldie, but trying to come back! NEED FSX HELP!!

Postby lunitic_8 » Fri Dec 29, 2017 4:24 pm

Hi all, to most of you I am probably a stranger and a newbie. Lets just say I am a repeat newbie, I used to be on here almost every day when I first got FSX and was really into it as a young kid along with this poplar forum. I had a great time trying too max out all my setting on my cheap piece of crap computer, and I ended up taking some pretty good screenshots in the process. This game is actually what helped make up my mind and inspired me to become a professional pilot.

Now, I recently found my OLD FSX disk(s) and I'm currently installing it. I have a pretty decent setup now so I'm not too worried about lag/FPS issues. However, I'm really lost as to where to begin as far as downloads go. I'm sitting here trying to remember all the mods I used to have by searching through old posts attempting to figure it out. While I do that, I was hoping some of you current FSX-ers could lead me in the right direction as far as what are the good mods/add-ons to get to get my sim quality as good if not better than it was "back in the day." :lol:

One more question, the disk install is giving me some difficulties on windows 10, would it be better to installthe game from steam? If I do, Can I modify the game like you can with the disk install?

Please help this FSX oldtimer!! :-D

- Chad

I7-7700HQ | GTX 1060 | 16GB DDR4-2400MHz | 1TB HDD + 256GB SSD
lunitic_8
Major
Major

Re: I'm an oldie, but trying to come back! NEED FSX HELP!!

Postby Ratty » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:14 pm

Go with Steam. It has run virtually flawlessly for me for several years. I'm into add-on airplanes rather than utilities, but everything has installed successfully.
Ratty
Ground hog
Ground hog

Postby Dave T » Fri Dec 29, 2017 5:20 pm

Welcome back check your messages for a few helpful links.
Dave T
Major
Major