IM A NEWBIE, NEED ADVICE!!!

Forum dedicated to Microsoft FS2004 - "A Century of Flight".

IM A NEWBIE, NEED ADVICE!!!

Postby The-Next-Round » Sat Feb 28, 2004 6:02 pm

:) i love the game fs2004 and would like some advice from any pro flyers out there, i love the boeing planes, thats what i like to fly, i can take off, i can keep it level in the sky, then it comes to lining up the run way and landing, ive had it 3 days now, ive not landed yet lol how on earth do i land? lol, and when im up there is there an auto pilot switch so i can relax? ;) ive just downloaded some planes from this site, so just want to say great site! :) and yes i have tried landing the boeing in the lessons and still crash everytime lol
The-Next-Round
Ground hog
Ground hog

Re: IM A NEWBIE, NEED ADVICE!!!

Postby ozzy72 » Sat Feb 28, 2004 6:26 pm

Hi Next-Round, welcome to SimV.
Landing heavies is hard work. The trick is to get lined up on final about 10 miles away (so the runway is just visible), then get the speed to just above the stall with 1' of flaps (not full), and the U/C down. You'll probably need to use rudder to compensate for crosswinds.
The way I mastered it was landing smaller aircraft in really bad conditions until I knew I could hit the center line every time.
Its just practice ;)

Happy Landings
Ozzy
There are two types of aeroplane, Spitfires and everything else that wishes it was a Spitfire!
ozzy72
Administrator
Administrator

Postby Felix/FFDS » Sat Feb 28, 2004 6:29 pm

Hi Next-Round, welcome to SimV.
Landing heavies is hard work.
Happy Landings
Ozzy

Ozzy - A Griffon Spit does NOT count as a "heavy"...
Felix/FFDS
Felix/FFDS
Administrator
Administrator

Postby ozzy72 » Sat Feb 28, 2004 6:42 pm

I know Felix, but I do always get my 'alternative' stunt-planes home safely ;D The passengers might not feel so well, but that is their problem ;D
There are two types of aeroplane, Spitfires and everything else that wishes it was a Spitfire!
ozzy72
Administrator
Administrator