SCENERY FILE ERROR INVALID REMOTE PATH

Forum dedicated to Microsoft FS2004 - "A Century of Flight".

SCENERY FILE ERROR INVALID REMOTE PATH

Postby SLAMMAN » Mon May 07, 2018 2:36 pm

Every time I try play FS9 I get this message "" SCENERY FILE ERROR
INVALID REMOTE PATH AREA 042,053,103,130,130,123,125,122,142,144
147,158,163 . I have tried removing it trough add & remove and that
don't work you go and look and it's still there you have to virtually remove it a little bit at a time through the drag and drop in the trash can
then you go back to add & remove and you can take it out. But you any
thing you want to keep WINZIP IT . You can go back and over right when
you re install. I have reinstall this twice and I'm getting tried and no
answers.TO BAD OPA MARSHALL isn't around!! If any one has a bout with this issue give me a holler I'D like to find out how you came out! :?
SLAMMAN
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:48 pm

Re: SCENERY FILE ERROR INVALID REMOTE PATH

Postby zswobbie1 » Tue May 08, 2018 3:35 am

Have a look at your scenery library & see if those areas are actually there.
Or delete them & reactivate them.

Or, find your scenery.cfg file, BACK IT UP.
Make a note of what scenery is referred to, by those numbered areas within the library.
Then edit & delete those areas - make sure the resultant areas that are left are sequently numbered.

Reboot the sim, there should be no errors, then go to the scenery library & load & activate those sceneries again.
zswobbie1
1st Lieutenant
1st Lieutenant
 
Posts: 363
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2010 3:29 am
Location: Cape Town, South Africa

Re: SCENERY FILE ERROR INVALID REMOTE PATH

Postby SLAMMAN » Tue May 08, 2018 2:57 pm

MY scenery only goes up to 97 the other scenery is default fs9 scenery but
I tried it and I got the same results. In fact I got a new scenery cfg. file
from the fs9 disc's and that didn't help. I found some corrupt stuff on the
CFG. FILE that's why I deleted it but I have a entry in my add& remove
I can't get fid of.
SLAMMAN
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:48 pm

Re: SCENERY FILE ERROR INVALID REMOTE PATH

Postby SLAMMAN » Sat May 12, 2018 4:51 pm

Didn't work all they wanted was 20.00 I ended up speaking to some dude that
didn't know the difference between a camel and CORSAIR he acted like when I
called I was BAGDAT.HE acted didn't know I was talking about the pc program
and they let people on the phone that couldn't wrangle a goat!
SLAMMAN
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:48 pm

Re: SCENERY FILE ERROR INVALID REMOTE PATH

Postby napamule » Sun May 13, 2018 2:37 am

Quote: 'All the wanted was $20.00'. To me it sounds like somebody droped some ransom ware (virus?) on you. You can remove it by going into 'Safe' mode and using virus removing program. Or try getting and installing 'IObit Uninstaller' (free) as it will remove any registry entries it (whatever it is) creates. If you look at your scenery cfg is there a '00' entry. The normal cfg starts with scenery '01'. It can be fixed. Hand in there.
Chuck B
Napamule
User avatar
napamule
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 4:50 pm
Location: California

Re: SCENERY FILE ERROR INVALID REMOTE PATH

Postby napamule » Sun May 13, 2018 2:44 am

Here is what one guy did. Date of post is '2010'.
Chuck B
Napamule

bretwizer (at FltSimCom)
'Thanks guys. It's always nice to learn about new areas in FSX. I now know where I should keep my addon scenery in the FSX library and which cfg file is used by FSX. After being told twice to look for an out of place folder that does not exist, it finally sunk in. Went through the cfg line by line and found a PNG_Mesh for Papua New Guinea that I no longer had. It had nothing to do with the other scenery I originally though caused the conflict. I also found a duplicate of another scenery listed. Deleted both from the FSX library and no longer have the error warning.'

And something from 'NickN' (simforums)
Please read this thread, as it will guide you in solving this problem:
http://www.flightsim.com/vbfs/showthrea ... h-AREA-115

You will need to find the error entry and define if the scenery exists or not

further.....
There is a tool for repairing the scenery.cfg and I use it all the time... its called FSTScenery.exe
I cant find it so I uploaded it here: http://www.simforums.com/forums/uploads ... cenery.zip . (Just click on link and it will auto download. Look in downloads).

Just unzip, drop it in the directory i posted above with the Scenery.cfg and run it... it will backup the original, repair and write a new one and also supply a error report if it finds any problems
User avatar
napamule
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 255
Joined: Mon Jul 22, 2002 4:50 pm
Location: California

Re: SCENERY FILE ERROR INVALID REMOTE PATH

Postby SLAMMAN » Wed Jun 13, 2018 10:00 am

NEED to resend it was a corrupt file THE FST SCRNERY TRIED TO OPEN IT
IT WAS A NO GO! BUT THNK YOU!
SLAMMAN
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:48 pm


Return to FS 2004 - A Century of Flight

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 300 guests