AI don't taxi....

Adding Aircraft Traffic, airport gates, etc, to your Sim - AFCAD, TTools, Project AI, AI Aircraft, etc

AI don't taxi....

Postby gypsymoth » Thu Jan 28, 2010 4:06 am

I've installed this nice airport (LA ROCHELLE - ILE DE RE v2.0 Pour FS9 from here) & have made up a small fleet of AI to use it.
Last edited by gypsymoth on Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH

Re: AI don't taxy....

Postby dave3cu » Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:39 am

Taxiway:(Blank) shouldn't cause the problem.

A common reason for this behavior is 'broken' taxi routes, i.e., the parking spot is not connected to the departure runway.

In AFX, run the Fault Finder (in the Tools menu). It should tell you if there are any unconnected links or other problems.

Dave

Edit: downloaded '1LFBH_La_Rochellev2FS9.zip'. If that's the same file: The Afcad (AF2_LFBH,bgl) is a total wreck. Few, if any, of the parking spots are connected, and there are dozens of other errors and omissions that will keep ai from departing. 
Last edited by dave3cu on Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
At that time [1909] the chief engineer was almost always the chief test pilot as well. That had the fortunate result of eliminating poor engineering early in aviation.
dave3cu
Major
Major
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 9:55 am
Location: 3CU, Northern Wisconsin, USA

Re: AI don't taxy....

Postby gypsymoth » Thu Jan 28, 2010 11:17 am

Thanks Dave - pity as it"s a nice looking airport.......
Many thanks for your trouble!
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH

Re: AI don't taxy....

Postby tgibson » Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:23 pm

Hi,

If you want to try salvaging it, load the file into AFCAD and choose Tools/Fault Finder.
Last edited by tgibson on Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
---
Tom Gibson
CalClassic Propliner Page
http://www.calclassic.com
tgibson
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: AI don't taxy....

Postby gypsymoth » Fri Jan 29, 2010 5:28 am

Yes, well, I've been experimenting with it since yesterday when Dave replied but as a beginner it's a bit hit & miss.   I must say that I'm deeply unimpressed that it's so bad & yet part of a nice airport ......... :-[
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH

Re: AI don't taxy....

Postby dave3cu » Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:14 am

Gypsymoth,

If you like, over the weekend I can fix the afcad so that ai can use LFBH and e-mail the file to you.

Dave
Last edited by dave3cu on Fri Jan 29, 2010 9:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
At that time [1909] the chief engineer was almost always the chief test pilot as well. That had the fortunate result of eliminating poor engineering early in aviation.
dave3cu
Major
Major
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 9:55 am
Location: 3CU, Northern Wisconsin, USA

Re: AI don't taxy....

Postby gypsymoth » Fri Jan 29, 2010 10:08 am

If you can I'll owe you a bottle of Wild Turkey  :D

I've been playing all morning in my learning mode....but I have to keep reading the tutorial every 2 mins as I realised I didn't do the right thing.  After 4 hrs (shhhh!) I gave up & emailed one of the blokes on the readme.  He's just replied that he knows it doesn't work & SORRY but he doesn't know how to fix it.

It will be great if you can fix it but in your own time as & when.  I can wait.  I'm going to go on to make flight plans for all my tropical islands now I know how to do that  ::)
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH

Re: AI don't taxi....

Postby gypsymoth » Tue Feb 02, 2010 3:38 am

Thanks for sending the repaired afcad Dave.  It works a treat.
They all t/o & land beautifully.......... :D
Terry.
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH


Return to Adding Aircraft Traffic (AI) & Gates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests