assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Adding Aircraft Traffic, airport gates, etc, to your Sim - AFCAD, TTools, Project AI, AI Aircraft, etc

assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby gypsymoth » Wed Jan 20, 2010 8:11 am

The afcad readme has a section on airlines & custom specs.
Suppose I want a Spitfire at Gate 2, eg, or a B737-300 at gate 8, how is it done?     :-[
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH

Re: assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby tgibson » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:26 pm

There are three things that you should consider:

1.  The parking spot type.  If you want a plane to park at a Gate, then the you need something like this in the livery's aicraft.cfg section:

atc_parking_types=GATE

or

atc_parking_types=MIL_COMBAT, GATE

2.  You also need to check that the radius of the plane (in FS9 you can check that using AFCAD/Tools/Aircraft Editor, in FSX it's 1/2 of the wingspan value in the aircraft.cfg file).  The parking spot must be larger than this.

3.  If you want the plane to park at a specific gate, then you also need to check the following aircraft.cfg line as well:

atc_parking_codes=AAL

The line above says "if the parking spot also has the code AAL (American Airlines) then give me priority parking there".

So you need to look at your Spitfire and your 737 and see if they already have a parking code listed for that livery.  If they do, make sure that the desired parking spot also has that code (they are case sensitive).  You can have parking spots with many codes, BTW.

If the planes don't have a parking code, give them one for the correct airline (or military type) and give the parking spot the same code.  If you can't find out what code to use, you can just make one up (up to 4 letters long).

Hope this helps,
---
Tom Gibson
CalClassic Propliner Page
http://www.calclassic.com
tgibson
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby gypsymoth » Wed Jan 20, 2010 2:55 pm

Hello.
Last edited by gypsymoth on Wed Jan 20, 2010 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH

Re: assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby tgibson » Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:11 pm

Just the parking code is not enough - you must take care of the other two things too.
---
Tom Gibson
CalClassic Propliner Page
http://www.calclassic.com
tgibson
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 170
Joined: Tue Sep 22, 2009 1:45 pm
Location: San Diego, CA

Re: assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby gypsymoth » Wed Jan 20, 2010 6:20 pm

Other 2 things.....?
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH

Re: assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby gypsymoth » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:17 am

2 other things....?
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH

Re: assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby dave3cu » Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:11 am

First off;
atc_parking_code=SPT
Last edited by dave3cu on Thu Jan 21, 2010 9:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
At that time [1909] the chief engineer was almost always the chief test pilot as well. That had the fortunate result of eliminating poor engineering early in aviation.
dave3cu
Major
Major
 
Posts: 3141
Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 9:55 am
Location: 3CU, Northern Wisconsin, USA

Re: assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby microlight » Thu Jan 21, 2010 1:10 pm

This might be what you're looking for, 'Creating VIP Parking for Commercial Airliners' (FS9 and FSX) created by our esteemed colleague Opa as part of his 'tips & tricks' series. It can be found in various places around the web including SimV (http://www.simviation.com/simviation/in ... =91&page=0, third from bottom) or if you want FSX, then try http://www.scenery.org/tutorials.htm, about halfway down the page (it's a lo-o-o-ng page!)

;)
User avatar
microlight
Major
Major
 
Posts: 2076
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2002 6:24 pm
Location: Southern UK

Re: assigning an aircraft to a parking spot.

Postby gypsymoth » Thu Jan 28, 2010 6:13 am

Thanks for all the info = I seem to have the nag of it now  :D
I also have ASX to play with!
When the c**p hits the fan, get a tent.
gypsymoth
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 757
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: EGHH


Return to Adding Aircraft Traffic (AI) & Gates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 85 guests