fsx gauge problem

FSSC, Airport 2.*, CfgEdit, etc. Get to grips with designing Scenery & Panels here!

fsx gauge problem

Postby alansan2012 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 1:56 pm

Hi everyone,
alansan2012 from Belgium ;-)

my problem while creating vcockpit with fs panel studio:

this is my realisation from an existing 2D/vcockpit (aerotrophy A22 Vision) :

Image

My problem in details :

... the upper screenshot is what I get !!!!!!!!!!?
.... the below's one is what I should have !!!!!!!!!!!!

Image

next is my panel.cfg file:

// This Panel.cfg file created by FS Panel Studio panel editor utility - http://www.fspanelstudio.com
// Built Monday, June 09, 2014 at 06:18 FSPS Build:22767

[Window Titles]
Window00=Main
Window01=GPS




//--------------------------------------------------------
[Window00]
file=principal.bmp
size_mm=1024
window_size_ratio=1.000
position=7
visible=1
ident=0
window_size= 1.000, 0.771
window_pos= 0.000, 0.229

gauge00=cessna!Master_Alt_Bat, 539,520,53,60
gauge01=mooney_bravo!Navigation Lights, 652,518,39,59
gauge02=fs9gps!gps_500, 355,203,337,309
gauge03=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Audio, 691,237,190,30
gauge04=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 1, 691,338,248,70
gauge05=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 2, 692,407,248,70
gauge06=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Xpndr, 692,532,248,56
gauge07=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio ADF, 692,475,248,58
gauge08=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio AP, 691,266,248,73
gauge09=cessna!Attitude, 151,260,100,110
gauge10=SimIcons!ATC Icon, 171,235,20,21
gauge11=SimIcons!Map Icon, 191,235,20,21
gauge12=SimIcons!Kneeboard Icon, 211,235,20,21
gauge13=Cessna!Tachometer, 49,382,100,110
gauge14=Cessna!Vertical_Speed, 252, 382 ,100,110
gauge15=Cessna!Altimeter, 253,260,100,110
gauge16=Cessna172!Airspeed, 48,260,100,110
gauge17=Cessna!Heading_Indicator, 150,382,100,110
gauge18=Cessna!Pitch_Trim, 339,515,40,72
gauge19=787!NAV-GPS, 297,209,43,52
gauge20=Beech_Baron!Flaps Switch, 383,515,78,69
gauge21=cessna!Starter, 465,517,71,67
gauge22=cessna!Avionics Switch, 596,519,53,60
gauge23=RKG_fuelstatX!FuelStatusSq_recip_wide, 52,508,278,80


//--------------------------------------------------------
[Window01]
Background_color=16,16,16
size_mm=150,250
position=8
visible=0
ident=GPS_PANEL
window_size= 0.370, 0.420
window_pos= 0.465, 0.580

gauge00=fs9gps!gps_500, 0,0,150,250


//--------------------------------------------------------
[Vcockpit01]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=720,280
visible=1
render_3d_window=1
pixel_size=720,280
texture=$pan1

gauge00=Cessna!Altimeter, 217,57,70,73
gauge01=cessna!Starter, 18,110,48,45
gauge02=Cessna!Vertical_Speed, 217,132,70,73
gauge03=Cessna172!Airspeed, 73,57,70,73
gauge04=mooney_bravo!Navigation Lights, 17,196,22,31
gauge05=cessna!Master_Alt_Bat, 14,77,30,31
gauge06=fs9gps!gps_500, 290,72,198,161
gauge07=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Audio, 490,54,140
gauge08=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 1, 490,80,155
gauge09=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 2, 490,136,155
gauge10=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Xpndr, 490,192,155
gauge11=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio ADF, 490,238,155
gauge12=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio AP, 290,20,198,51
gauge13=cessna!Attitude, 146,57,70,73
gauge14=Cessna!Tachometer, 73, 132 ,70,73
gauge15=Cessna!Heading_Indicator, 145,132,70,73
gauge16=Beech_Baron!Flaps Switch, 350,234,49,44
gauge17=Cessna!Pitch_Trim, 310,233,20,45
gauge18=787!NAV-GPS, 250,20,25,35
gauge19=RKG_fuelstatX!FuelStatusSq_recip_wide, 65,208,195,70
gauge20=SimIcons!ATC Icon, 180,30,15,16
gauge21=SimIcons!Map Icon, 200,30,15,16
gauge22=SimIcons!Kneeboard Icon, 220,30,15,16
gauge23=cessna!Avionics Switch, 45,77,26,31



[Color]
Day=255,255,255
Night=100,100,100
Luminous=100,100,100

[Default View]
X=0
Y=0
SIZE_X=8191
SIZE_Y=3366


I jus also realise than text from the com1 com2 nav1 nav2 are also ugly, too small to read !!

Can you help me to resolve this problem please ... ;-)

best fly regards

alansan2012
alansan2012
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:14 am

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby garymbuska » Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:09 pm

The one thing I noticed is that in your cfg file you have the GPS clicked as invisible try changing the 0 to a 1 for visible.
As for the actual gauge while in FSPANEL you can stretch the gauges to what ever size you want. You have to remember that FSpanel will size the gauge to the Window.
To resize any gauge just click on it and stretch away. Remember what you see is what you get so if you can not make out a gauge or panel while in FSPANEL than you will not be able to read it with FSX

<<v
Gary M Buska
SYSTEM Specs ASUS P8Z68 V/GEN 3 mother board: INTELL I7 2600k 3.48 ghz Quad core CPU with Sandy bridge: 12 Gigs of 1800hz ram:
GTX 950 OVER CLOCKED: 2 Gigs Ram Windows 10 Home 64 bit Operating system. 750W Dedicated modular power supply. Two Internal 1TB hard drives 1 External 1TB 3.2 USB hard drive. SAITEK Cessna flight Yoke with throttles.
CH Rudder Peddles 27 inch Wide screen Monitor
User avatar
garymbuska
Major
Major
 
Posts: 4026
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2003 11:10 am
Location: Jacksonville, Florida

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby alansan2012 » Mon Jun 09, 2014 2:42 pm

Hi,

I'll try 0 to 1 for the gps visibility ;-)

alansan2012
alansan2012
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:14 am

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby alansan2012 » Tue Jun 10, 2014 1:43 pm

put 1 instead of 0 is for having windows opened immediately when loading an aircraft !

that do not solve my problem !
alansan2012
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:14 am

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby Fozzer » Tue Jun 10, 2014 3:29 pm

To me, The only difference I can see in the two gauges, seems to be just the display on the screen, which is changed by pressing the "TERR" (Terrain) button on the instrument?

Paul.
Win 8.1 64-bit. DX11. Advent Tower. Intel i7-3770 3.9 GHz 8-core. 8 GB System RAM. AMD Radeon HD 7700 1GB RAM. DVD ROM. 2 Terra Byte SATA Hard Drive. Philips 17" LCD Monitor. Saitek Cyborg X Fly-5 Joystick. ...and a Briggs and Stratton Petrol Lawn Mower.
User avatar
Fozzer
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 31028
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 3:11 pm
Location: Hereford. England. EGBS.

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby Dieselpunk » Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:32 am

Hi,

to solve this problem you have to change the size and resolution of the gauges in [Vcockpit01].

the first step ist to change the resolution, which is stored in the pixel_size. Change

"pixel_size=720,280"

to

"pixel_size=1440,560" or "pixel_size=2880,1120"

and you will get much crisper gauges.

In the second step, you have to change the size of the gauges, by changing

"size_mm=720,280"

to

"size_mm=1440,560" or "size_mm=2880,1120".

You must also change the position and the size of each gauge in the [Vcockpit01] section by doubling or quadrubling the coordinates and the size.
For example

"gauge06=fs9gps!gps_500, 290,72,198,161"

must be changed to

"gauge06=fs9gps!gps_500, 580,144,396,322" or "gauge06=fs9gps!gps_500, 1160,288,792,644".

You have to repeat this for every gauge in this section. Maybe you have to adjust the size and position of the indiviual gauges, by changing the first pair of numbers (580,144) for the x- and y-coordinates and the second pair (396,322) for the size.


I hope, I could help.

Greetings

Dieselpunk
Dieselpunk
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:27 am
Location: NRW, Germany

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby alansan2012 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 7:42 am

ahh ?!!!
I' ll try now and come back after to tell you ;-)

thanks....

alansan2012
alansan2012
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:14 am

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby alansan2012 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 11:32 am

I have done all change about resolution pixel as below:

// This Panel.cfg file created by FS Panel Studio panel editor utility - http://www.fspanelstudio.com
// Built Wednesday, June 11, 2014 at 17:52 FSPS Build:22767

[Window Titles]
Window00=Main
Window01=GPS




//--------------------------------------------------------
[Window00]
file=principal.bmp
size_mm=1024
window_size_ratio=1.000
position=7
visible=1
ident=0
window_size= 1.000, 0.771
window_pos= 0.000, 0.229

gauge00=cessna!Master_Alt_Bat, 539,520,53,60
gauge01=mooney_bravo!Navigation Lights, 652,518,39,59
gauge02=SimIcons!ATC Icon, 171,235,20,21
gauge03=SimIcons!Map Icon, 191,235,20,21
gauge04=SimIcons!Kneeboard Icon, 211,235,20,21
gauge05=Cessna!Tachometer, 49,382,100,110
gauge06=Cessna!Vertical_Speed, 252,382,100,110
gauge07=Cessna!Altimeter, 253,260,100,110
gauge08=Cessna172!Airspeed, 48,260,100,110
gauge09=Cessna!Heading_Indicator, 150,382,100,110
gauge10=Cessna!Pitch_Trim, 339,515,40,72
gauge11=787!NAV-GPS, 690,297,39,34
gauge12=Beech_Baron!Flaps Switch, 383,515,78,69
gauge13=cessna!Starter, 465,517,71,67
gauge14=cessna!Avionics Switch, 596, 519 ,53,60
gauge15=RKG_fuelstatX!FuelStatusSq_recip_wide, 52,508,278,80
gauge16=fs9gpsori!gps_500, 355,235,336,279
gauge17=BK_Radio!Bendix-King Radio Audio, 730,297,242,33
gauge18=BK_Radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 1, 690,384,286,70
gauge19=BK_Radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 2, 690,454,287,70
gauge20=BK_Radio!Bendix-King Radio Xpndr, 690,524,288,62
gauge21=Cessna208!Annunciator, 356,188,332,46
gauge22=GlassMiniPanel!AUTOPILOT F-111, 690,331,284,52
gauge23=cessna!Attitude, 151,260,100,110


//--------------------------------------------------------
[Window01]
Background_color=16,16,16
size_mm=150,250
position=8
visible=0
ident=GPS_PANEL
window_size= 0.370, 0.420
window_pos= 0.465, 0.580

gauge00=fs9gps!gps_500, 0,0,150,250


//--------------------------------------------------------
[Vcockpit01]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=1440,560
visible=1
pixel_size=1440,560
texture=$pan1
zorder=2

gauge00=Cessna!Altimeter, 434,156,140
gauge01=cessna!Starter, 36,220,96
gauge02=Cessna!Vertical_Speed, 434,310,140
gauge03=Cessna172!Airspeed, 146,156,140
gauge04=mooney_bravo!Navigation Lights, 34,358,44
gauge05=cessna!Master_Alt_Bat, 28,154,60
gauge06=cessna!Attitude, 292,156,140
gauge07=Cessna!Tachometer, 146,310,140
gauge08=Cessna!Heading_Indicator, 290,310,140
gauge09=Beech_Baron!Flaps Switch, 680,492,98,64
gauge10=Cessna!Pitch_Trim, 620,490,40
gauge11=787!NAV-GPS, 790,474,50,57
gauge12=RKG_fuelstatX!FuelStatusSq_recip_wide, 160,452,340
gauge13=SimIcons!ATC Icon, 4,522,30,30
gauge14=SimIcons!Map Icon, 4, 488 ,30,30
gauge15=SimIcons!Kneeboard Icon, 4,454,30,30
gauge16=cessna!Avionics Switch, 90,154,52
gauge17=fs9gpsori!gps_500, 576,140,402,333
gauge18=BK_Radio!Bendix-King Radio Audio, 670,79,306
gauge19=BK_Radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 1, 980,130,328
gauge20=BK_Radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 2, 980,252,328
gauge21=BK_Radio!Bendix-King Radio Xpndr, 980,375,328
gauge22=Cessna208!Annunciator, 174,110,400
gauge23=GlassMiniPanel!AUTOPILOT F-111, 844,475,464,83



[Color]
Day=255,255,255
Night=100,100,100
Luminous=100,100,100

[Default View]
X=0
Y=0
SIZE_X=8191
SIZE_Y=3366


but I still have ugly effects (under red) :

Image

...?!!
alansan2012
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:14 am

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby Fozzer » Wed Jun 11, 2014 12:07 pm

Well, I don't know... :roll: ....

It all looks fine to me!

With a full understanding of all the location and scalable options available in FS Panel Studio, it is perfectly possible to sort everything out to one's complete satisfaction, without any programming knowledge, or delving into the panel.cfg file.

No problems this end... ;) ...!

Paul...long time FS Panel Studio user... :D ...!
Win 8.1 64-bit. DX11. Advent Tower. Intel i7-3770 3.9 GHz 8-core. 8 GB System RAM. AMD Radeon HD 7700 1GB RAM. DVD ROM. 2 Terra Byte SATA Hard Drive. Philips 17" LCD Monitor. Saitek Cyborg X Fly-5 Joystick. ...and a Briggs and Stratton Petrol Lawn Mower.
User avatar
Fozzer
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 31028
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 3:11 pm
Location: Hereford. England. EGBS.

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby Fozzer » Wed Jun 11, 2014 1:13 pm

Note: It is important to remember that any changes that you make to the Panel using FS Panel Studio, will only affect the 2D panel....
..the 3D cockpit panel is designed and fixed by the Aircraft Designer of the model.

FS Panel studio warns you of this limitation in the instructions.

I mostly fly with the 2D panel, using my own panel layout.

Paul.
Win 8.1 64-bit. DX11. Advent Tower. Intel i7-3770 3.9 GHz 8-core. 8 GB System RAM. AMD Radeon HD 7700 1GB RAM. DVD ROM. 2 Terra Byte SATA Hard Drive. Philips 17" LCD Monitor. Saitek Cyborg X Fly-5 Joystick. ...and a Briggs and Stratton Petrol Lawn Mower.
User avatar
Fozzer
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 31028
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 3:11 pm
Location: Hereford. England. EGBS.

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby alansan2012 » Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:03 pm

look at my last published screenshot....

the police/font into red square seems to be smaller.... I anderstand what append: in fact, the "text" is inclined !! you can see it in gps info screen .

for try, I have changed the AP gauge of original c172 (with FSPS) with the F111's one and in vcockpit fly mode, all is perfect!

Image
alansan2012
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:14 am

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby Dieselpunk » Thu Jun 12, 2014 12:30 am

Hi,

im sorry, that it didn't work.

And you are right, it seems to be a problem of the text part of the gauges, which scales in another way than the rest of the gauges.

If you could post, which version of the A-22 it is - and if it is freeware - I'll take a closer look at it and maybe i can work something out.

Greetings

Dieselpunk
Dieselpunk
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:27 am
Location: NRW, Germany

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby alansan2012 » Thu Jun 12, 2014 6:49 am

And you are right, it seems to be a problem of the text part of the gauges, which scales in another way than the rest of the gauges.


it's not question of "scale" (=I mean font size) but it's like as if "text" have a 3d angle , if you anderstand what I mean ?!!

for you to be easy, I'll will upload the 2 "A22" zip files on my web site and give you the links when ready to download.

thre will have two links:

*the A22 vision for which I have problems (9.6mb), and
*the A22 foxback for which there are no problem in vcockpit with the gps and the radio stack (15.3 mb)

;-)

alansan2012
alansan2012
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2014 10:14 am

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby Dieselpunk » Fri Jun 13, 2014 1:24 am

HI,

I put in a nightshift and came to no real solution. The problem lies in the model, the vc is nearly three times wider than high and the sim expects a square vc. So the gauges, which are also based on square bitmaps, have to be adapted or 'scaled'.

This is no real problem with the bitmaps, which scale quite well, but the text part of the gauges, like the displays of the radios or the text display of the gps, are scaled in another way. To make things worse, the map display of the gps is scaled in yet another way.

I put together a vc, that marginal works, but the gps looks odd and should be at least doubled in size.

IMHO the best solution would be to forget about the plane and use one of the versions by Rick Piper or V. Zhyhulskiy (found at AVSIM). I prefer the one by Mr. Zhyhulskiy, which has a very nice glass-cockpit, and use it in FS9 and FSX (for FSX the alpha-channels of glass and prop textures had to be adjusted, but that was no issue).

Greetings

Dieselpunk


//--------------------------------------------------------

[Vcockpit01]
Background_color=0,0,0
size_mm=2880,1120
visible=1
pixel_size=1024,1024
texture=$pan1

gauge00=ball, -40, 320, 604, 404
gauge01=Cap10_Instr!Altimeter, 720, 760, 280, 280
gauge02=Cap10_Instr!Breguet_Timer, 2520, 760, 280, 280
gauge03=Cap10_Instr!Starter, 2480, 280, 240
gauge04=Cap10_Instr!Vertical_Speed, 1280, 760, 280, 280
gauge05=bell_206b.airspeed, 440, 760, 280
gauge06=mooney_bravo!Navigation Lights, 2480, 500, 112, 124
gauge07=cessna!ADF, 440, 200, 280
gauge08=cessna_182.rpm.1, 1560, 760, 280, 280
gauge09=cessna!Master_Alt_Bat, 2600, 500, 112, 124
gauge10=fs9gps!gps_500, 1140, 100, 766, 300
gauge11=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Audio, 1960, 200, 460
gauge12=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 1, 1960, 280, 460, 100
gauge13=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Nav-Comm 2, 1960, 380, 460, 100
gauge14=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio Xpndr, 1960, 480, 460, 100
gauge15=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio ADF, 1960, 580, 460, 100
gauge16=bendix_king_radio!Bendix-King Radio AP, 1960, 680, 460, 100
gauge17=cessna!Attitude, 120, 260, 300, 300
gauge18=HP_VOR_RMI, 720, 140, 400
gauge19=extra-300.wing-tank, 460, 500, 240
Dieselpunk
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Sep 09, 2013 11:27 am
Location: NRW, Germany

Re: fsx gauge problem

Postby AirAusquin » Tue Jan 03, 2017 12:32 am

Dieselpunk wrote:HI,

The problem lies in the model, the vc is nearly three times wider than high and the sim expects a square vc.
IMHO the best solution would be to forget about the plane


I have spent most of the last 5 years and 5 previous ones working on custom made VCs. This is a problem I had to confront a lot and as Dieselpunk state, the best solution is to forget about the plane, or use bitmaps only gauges. No vectors, no windows fonts based texts.

In planes like this, the designer designated a VC area which is not squared. Instead it is 1Wx1/2H, typically. So texts and specially vectors (GPS) are squashed in the same factor. The only way to fix that is that the original designer redo the VC using a squared projection area, half of it ending in the windscreen [a good idea is to use it over the panel center pedestal of vertical]. I have talked to lot of guys asking for help in how to fix that myself, and they just tell me that it is too much work.

Alejandro
Venezuela
AirAusquin
Ground hog
Ground hog
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:40 am


Return to Scenery & Panel Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 239 guests