will this work to transfer Maya files to Gmax or 3DS Max

Anything to do with Aircraft Design, FSDS, G Max, Aircraft Animator, SDL Edit, etc. Novice or skilled - stop here & learn!

will this work to transfer Maya files to Gmax or 3DS Max

Postby ryanbrown321 » Wed May 05, 2010 12:08 pm

I was wondering if i could use the program on this site http://www.okino.com/conv/pt4maya8.htm to tranfer models (aircraft and buildings and objects for scenery) from Maya to Gmax and then into the flight sim without having to tweak too much once its imported into Gmax?  Has anyone tried this before?  I am new to modeling and scenery design but i currently have Maya 2010 and would like to learn how to use it by modeling for FSX.  My first project will be to model the Deep Horizon oil rig that recently exploded in the Gulf of Mexico as a tribute to the terrible loss this has caused.  If its good enough I would like to sell it for a couple of dollars a download and send ALL the money to the families who lost loved ones.  The reason behind this is most of my family is or has been in the offshore oil field business their whole lifes.  Please any help would be much appreciated.  Also I would love to make a Bell Longranger with customized flight dynamics and a VC. Thanks.  Ryan Brown.
ryanbrown321
Ground hog
Ground hog

Re: will this work to transfer Maya files to Gmax or 3DS Max

Postby Travis » Wed May 05, 2010 12:21 pm

If you have access to 3DS Max this might work, but it costs around US$3500.  If you don't already have it, you're screwed.  Sad to say, Gmax doesn't utilize any format Max recognizes, except for importing *.3ds files, in which you lose all info regarding smoothing, animation and texturing.  So moving from Maya to Gmax via this method seems redundant, when all you would get is the mesh.  And mesh creation in Gmax is the easiest part!  So it might do you well to simply learn a bit about Gmax and go from there.
Travis
Major
Major