creating aircraft etc.

Anything to do with Aircraft Design, FSDS, G Max, Aircraft Animator, SDL Edit, etc. Novice or skilled - stop here & learn!

creating aircraft etc.

Postby johnkimbler » Wed Aug 03, 2016 6:58 pm

gentlemen or Ladies: I am new to the Flight simulators and would love to know how to create the aircraft that I've been downloading. Is there special software you use and
do you have to have an engineering degree in order to do this. I wish to contribute by uploading as well as downloading items for FS2004.

John
johnkimbler
Ground hog
Ground hog

Re: creating aircraft etc.

Postby pegger » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:10 am

There is not a simple answer for this.
You will need a 3d moelling software. I believe Gmax was included with the FS2004 SDK Package.
You will need a good graphics editing suite to make textures. Photoshop is common, however GIMP is a powerful free and open source program too.
You need to read all of the SDK materials to fully grasp the inner workings of the flight sim software.
You need to start studying all the discussions on this topic here at simviation, FSdeveloper, and other popular sim sites.
And finally, you need a tremendouse amount of patience to get through the steep learning curve associated with all of this.
pegger
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant

Postby Hagar » Thu Aug 04, 2016 10:51 am

johnkimbler wrote:do you have to have an engineering degree in order to do this.

Not compulsory but it wouldn't hurt. :)

You might like to start with something easier like repainting aircraft textures.
Look around for tutorials on the subject. Here's one. http://www.calclassic.com/repaint.htm

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Google Photos albums
My Flickr albums
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel

Postby johnkimbler » Thu Aug 04, 2016 8:07 pm