Question about default settings by some designers

Anything to do with Aircraft Design, FSDS, G Max, Aircraft Animator, SDL Edit, etc. Novice or skilled - stop here & learn!

Question about default settings by some designers

Postby Modlerbob » Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:41 pm

I recently downloaded for FSX the Convair B-36H after watching the movie "Strategic Air Command". On my first attempt at a takeoff I was unable to get the beast off the ground before running out of runway, and I had picked a field with a long runway. When next I tried I discovered that the person who had designed the package had overloaded the aircraft to the tune of 100,000 lbs of fuel pushing the weight way above max gross. After changing the fuel load to keep the plane below max gross weight it took off well before the end of the same runway I had used before.

OK, maybe I should have thought to check the weight and balance before attempting a takeoff but some of us aren't as serious about doing preflight checks as others are. I use FSX for enjoyment and not to simulate in every detail an actual flight. And this wasn't the first aircraft that I have found to be over weight as is.
User avatar
Modlerbob
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Central Florida

Re: Question about default settings by some designers

Postby Anthindelahunt » Fri Jun 12, 2015 6:43 pm

I have also come across lots of aircraft over weight.

Anthin :mrgreen:
User avatar
Anthindelahunt
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1507
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 5:02 pm
Location: Canberra Australia

Re: Question about default settings by some designers

Postby Hawkeye07 » Fri Jun 12, 2015 8:49 pm

Modlerbob wrote:OK, maybe I should have thought to check the weight and balance before attempting a takeoff but some of us aren't as serious about doing preflight checks as others are. I use FSX for enjoyment and not to simulate in every detail an actual flight. And this wasn't the first aircraft that I have found to be over weight as is.


I'm with you, Kick the tires & light the fires! Done enough of the serious stuff in real life, here I'm all about the pure enjoyment of boring holes in the sky.
Image

An Aircraft Mechanic only needs two tools, Duct Tape and WD40.
If it moves and it's not supposed to - use the Duct Tape.
If it doesn't move and it's supposed to - use the WD40.

Intel(R) i5 CPU 750 @ 2.67GHz, P55M-UD4, GeForce GTX960 8.00 GB RAM, Windows 7 Ultimate (32 bit & 64 bit on separate HDs)
User avatar
Hawkeye07
Major
Major
 
Posts: 1251
Joined: Sun Dec 02, 2012 7:10 pm
Location: Landlocked in the Midwest USA at KAXN

Re: Question about default settings by some designers

Postby Jetranger » Fri Jun 12, 2015 9:14 pm

Copy & Paste from one aircraft to another in the design process sometimes doesn't work !

I've had to go in a change the weight on numerous aircraft as they were way too heavy, not only fuel, but freight & passengers too.

who knows where they copied the configurations from ????

an often over looked area, you could day.
User avatar
Jetranger
Major
Major
 
Posts: 3232
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:49 am
Location: Kansas City Missouri USA / KMKC

Re: Question about default settings by some designers

Postby Modlerbob » Fri Jun 12, 2015 10:16 pm

OK, for the B-36 I went into the aircraft.cfg file and found this:

[fuel]
fuel_type=2.000000
number_of_tank_selectors=1
LeftMain=0.000000,0.000000,0.000000,20000.000000,0.000000
LeftAux=0.000000,-89.166667,0.000000,6795.000000,0.000000
RightMain=0.000000,0.000000,0.000000,20000.000000,0.000000
RightAux=0.000000,89.166667,0.000000,6795.000000,0.000000
electric_pump=0

I have no idea what to change , if anything. And if this isn't where you change the default fuel load where do I look?
User avatar
Modlerbob
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Central Florida

Re: Question about default settings by some designers

Postby Hagar » Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:17 am

Modlerbob wrote:OK, for the B-36 I went into the aircraft.cfg file and found this:

[fuel]
fuel_type=2.000000
number_of_tank_selectors=1
LeftMain=0.000000,0.000000,0.000000,20000.000000,0.000000
LeftAux=0.000000,-89.166667,0.000000,6795.000000,0.000000
RightMain=0.000000,0.000000,0.000000,20000.000000,0.000000
RightAux=0.000000,89.166667,0.000000,6795.000000,0.000000
electric_pump=0

I have no idea what to change , if anything. And if this isn't where you change the default fuel load where do I look?

I copied this from the FSX Aircraft Container SDK;
Image

The fuel tank capacity would be the entries I've marked in Bold type in your example;

LeftMain=0.000000,0.000000,0.000000,20000.000000,0.000000
LeftAux=0.000000,-89.166667,0.000000,6795.000000,0.000000
RightMain=0.000000,0.000000,0.000000,20000.000000,0.000000
RightAux=0.000000,89.166667,0.000000,6795.000000,0.000000

Please bear in mind that the flight model of an aircraft like the B-36 would be impossible to simulate accurately in FS. The FS flight dynamics are limited to conventional aircraft with a maximum of 4 engines of the same type. This would be further complicated by the 4 additional jet engines on the B-36H. I'm no authority on this aircraft but understand that these were added mainly as take-off boosters.

I found this which might help with the actual fuel capacity of the B-36. Note that it does not include fuel tanks for the extra jet engines on the H model.
Image
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 30807
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: Question about default settings by some designers

Postby Modlerbob » Sat Jun 13, 2015 10:22 am

OK the numbers I posted were fuel tank capacities. So where does the default initial load get entered?

Update, when I changed the fuel tank capacities to the numbers on the chart Hagar provided adding tanks 1, 2 & 3 to 10,527gal and the aux. tanks to 4788gal the total loaded weight came in below max. gross and the plane took off in less than 10,000 ft.

Thanks Hagar
User avatar
Modlerbob
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 288
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 12:06 am
Location: Central Florida


Return to Aircraft & 3D Design

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 249 guests