Deleting areas that are never "flown"

Ideas, suggestions, tips & questions on how to supercharge your PC or software!

Deleting areas that are never "flown"

Postby Mothball » Mon Oct 01, 2007 6:34 am

First, I will say that I am NOT an expert with sims by any means, just a constant tinkerer. So, with that out of way, I tried this, this past weekend. I have a 300MB harddrive that I have consistently used 74% of my total disk space with both FS9 & FSX. The very first thing I did was become very, very honest with myself. I know  FS9 & FSX have some great scenery features available such as the Sphinx and the Great Pyamids, great sights in Australia, Europe and Asia. This is where the "self" honesty came in; I NEVER have "flown" those areas before because I'm usually trying to get more proficient with controlling and monitoring the aircraft, and of course, I do look out the windows, but I'm not really sight-seeing and I have no quarells with "flying" these other places. Again, just self honesty. It turns out that I "fly" in about five general areas in the U.S. with very short excursions into Canada and Mexico every once in a while. Well, with much tinkering and countless uninstall/re-installs, I began parusing through all the files. I got to the Scenery/World/Scenery area, and I noticed Same, Asia, Oceana, etc... I figured, what the heck, I'll try it... I deleted all of the areas that I don't "fly" - Asia , Europe, Australia, etc. in both FS9 & FSX, and I now using a little bit less than 40% of my harddrive space...THAT made quite a difference. I noticed that my, already, quite smooth graphics are even smoother and even have become a little bit sharper. Like I said, I'm no expert, I'm just relaying something that I tried out...Semper Fi, Dave
Mothball

Re: Deleting areas that are never "flown"

Postby MWISimmer » Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:54 pm

300MB hard drive? Are you sure? Don't you mean 300GB?
Either way I can't see how it would make a difference.
MWISimmer