Getting what I paid for.

FSX including FSX Steam version.

Getting what I paid for.

Postby gordie3640 » Tue Mar 07, 2017 10:49 am

:violin: I need to express my disappointment and frustration with Microsoft and its FSX. I am a retired pastor; a computer USER not a computer DEVELOPER. I love to fly but can’t afford a plane so I purchased a CH Flightsim yoke and FSX. I’ve tried with no success to communicate this disappointment directly to Microsoft with no satisfaction.

I live near an airport located close to the Western Shores of Lake Michigan. There are three iconic lighthouses within a thirty-mile stretch of the shore. However, none of them appear in the “Deluxe Edition.” It is like buying a watch on line then discovering that it has only four numbers on it. But wait. Somehow I discover that there is the potential of adding scenery objects, but I have to perform several developmental tasks perfectly. The result will be “tools” in my SFX. Never mind Microsoft doesn’t tell me this and they don’t tell me how to do it.

A third party developer evidently realizes this same frustration and graciously provides software called “Scenery Shortcut.” It takes a little extraneous coding, however, I’m able to do it and now I have lighthouses with gulls flying around them plus several other local landmarks that make flying much more realistic. But wait. I receive a new computer as a gift but it runs on Windows 10 and “Scenery Shortcut” is no longer compatible and my landmarks have all disappeared.

I have the potential to place objects but, evidently I missed something in one of the many SPs installed and DLLs modified (thanks to a lot of willing developer types). So still no “Tools.”
I paid for these objects but don’t get to enjoy them because I didn’t get what I paid for: something that works when it comes out of the box.
gordie3640
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant

Re: Getting what I paid for.

Postby Fozzer » Tue Mar 07, 2017 1:18 pm