Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73 - Adding Textures

FSX: The latest in the 'Flight Simulator' series including FSX Steam version.

Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73 - Adding Textures

Postby blackgranada77 » Thu May 29, 2014 9:24 pm

Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73 install. Just cant seem to figure out how to add repaint and edit aircraft. config to base pack. If someone could explain it to me it would be appreciated. Is there a video on how to do this?
Dave
Intel I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ OC to 4.2 GHZ 6M LGA1155
2TB Seagate SATA III 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB CACHE
16GB CORSAIR XMS 1866MHZ DDR3
AMD RADEON 7870 2GB DDR5
GIGABYTE GA-Z77-HD3 INTEL Z77 MOBO
Antec HCG-900W Continuous power PSU
CORSAIR HYDRO H60 120MM LIQUID COOLING INPUSH-PULL SETUP
3 120MM CASE FANS
WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL SP1 64 BIT ORBX FTX Global Terrain , FTX Vector , FTX North and South America Freeware Airports , Europe Freeware Airports, FTX KBHB
blackgranada77
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Illinois USA KALN

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby Hagar » Fri May 30, 2014 3:05 am

OK, I'll walk you through this in easy steps. Most of the HJG aircraft were intended for FS9 but will work fine in FSX.
You don't say which version of FS this is for so I'll describe the install for FSX.

Download the Douglas DC-8-73 Base Pack & Transamerica repaint here ->> http://simviation.com/hjg/aircraft/douglas/dc-8-73.htm

First of all install the base pack.
Extract HJG_Douglas_DC-8-73_v5.zip to a Temp folder.
It contains a folder named HJG_Douglas_DC-8-73_v5
Paste this folder into your FSX\SimObjects\Airplanes directory.

Now install the texture.
Extract dc-8-73_transamerica_1983_n872tv.zip to a Temp folder.
This contains a folder named texture.transamerica_1983_73_n872tv plus 3 files named add to aircraft.txt, eula.txt & installation instructions.txt.
Paste the texture.transamerica_1983_73_n872tv folder into the HJG_Douglas_DC-8-73_v5 folder you just installed.

Now open the file named add to aircraft.txt in Notepad.
Select all the text (Edit > Select All) & copy it (Edit > Copy)
Find the Aircraft.cfg file in the HJG_Douglas_DC-8-73_v5 folder & open it in Notepad.
Paste the text you just copied at the top of the CFG entries (just below the first 3 lines)
This is what it will look like:

// Add your [fltsim.xx] sections here.
// Remember to start with 0 (zero).
// Copyright Historic Jetliners Group. No uploading of HJG materials to any website without prior approval.

[fltsim.xx] // Change "xx" to next number in sequence starting from 0
title=HJG Douglas DC-8-73 Trans America 1983
sim=DC-8-73_2k4
model=
panel=
sound=
texture=transamerica_1983_73_n872tv
kb_checklists=
kb_reference=
visual_damage=1
description=HJG Douglas DC-8-73
ui_manufacturer=Douglas
ui_type=DC-8-73
ui_variation=Trans America (1983)
atc_id=N872TV
atc_airline=
atc_flight_number=
atc_heavy=0
atc_parking_codes=TVA
atc_parking_types=GATE,CARGO,RAMP

[General]
performance=Length: 57.12 m (187 ft 5 in)\nWing span: 45.24 m (148 ft 5 in)\nMaximum take-off weight: 158,700 kg (350,000 lb)\nMaximum landing weight: 111,100 kg (245,000 lb)\nFuel: 91,892 l (24,275 U.S. gal.)\nPower: (4) CFM56-2-C5 @ 97.9 kN (22,000 lb). ea.\nPassengers: up to 252\n\nHistoric Jetliners Group\n\nModel Designer: Dee Waldron\nFlight Dynamics: Michael Verlin\n
atc_type=MCDONNELDOUGLAS
atc_model=DC87


Change the [fltsim.xx] entry to the next number in sequence.
As this is your first variation it will be [fltsim.0]
Exit Notepad saving changes.
NOTE: If you have problems saving the Aircraft.cfg file paste it to your Desktop before editing it. Then paste it back after saving.

The aircraft is now installed & will be listed on the FSX aircraft selection menu. (It won't have a thumbnail but that is easily fixed later.)

Image

As this is an FS9 aircraft the panel & sound are aliased to use the files from the FS9 default B747-400 & B737-400 respectively.
For the sound to work in FSX you will need to edit Sound.cfg to point it to the default B737-800.
This is easy enough but it might be better to download & install the correct panel & sound from the HJG site. http://simviation.com/hjg/downloads.htm

Hope this works for you.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34390
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby blackgranada77 » Fri May 30, 2014 12:22 pm

Thanks. Here goes. Will let you know if I do it right.
Dave
Intel I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ OC to 4.2 GHZ 6M LGA1155
2TB Seagate SATA III 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB CACHE
16GB CORSAIR XMS 1866MHZ DDR3
AMD RADEON 7870 2GB DDR5
GIGABYTE GA-Z77-HD3 INTEL Z77 MOBO
Antec HCG-900W Continuous power PSU
CORSAIR HYDRO H60 120MM LIQUID COOLING INPUSH-PULL SETUP
3 120MM CASE FANS
WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL SP1 64 BIT ORBX FTX Global Terrain , FTX Vector , FTX North and South America Freeware Airports , Europe Freeware Airports, FTX KBHB
blackgranada77
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Illinois USA KALN

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby blackgranada77 » Fri May 30, 2014 12:57 pm

This is why I don't like computers. I have tried 4 times and cant get it right. When I download the base pack I get model panel sound aircraft. cfg etc instead of a folder named HJG_Douglas_DC-8-73_v5 what am I doing wrong. I even printed off a copy of your instructions so I could follow them step by step. I know its not the computers fault I just don't get it. I am going to practice on a different aircraft and see if I can figure this out.
Dave
Intel I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ OC to 4.2 GHZ 6M LGA1155
2TB Seagate SATA III 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB CACHE
16GB CORSAIR XMS 1866MHZ DDR3
AMD RADEON 7870 2GB DDR5
GIGABYTE GA-Z77-HD3 INTEL Z77 MOBO
Antec HCG-900W Continuous power PSU
CORSAIR HYDRO H60 120MM LIQUID COOLING INPUSH-PULL SETUP
3 120MM CASE FANS
WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL SP1 64 BIT ORBX FTX Global Terrain , FTX Vector , FTX North and South America Freeware Airports , Europe Freeware Airports, FTX KBHB
blackgranada77
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Illinois USA KALN

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby Jetranger » Fri May 30, 2014 1:37 pm

should be a FOLDER within that download , called - TEXTURE. whatever name

if NOT than that download is corrupted if that Texture folder isn't there to be seen !

Jetranger
User avatar
Jetranger
Major
Major
 
Posts: 2807
Joined: Fri Sep 30, 2011 2:49 am
Location: Kansas City Missouri USA / KMKC

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby Hagar » Fri May 30, 2014 3:29 pm

blackgranada77 wrote:This is why I don't like computers. I have tried 4 times and cant get it right. When I download the base pack I get model panel sound aircraft. cfg etc instead of a folder named HJG_Douglas_DC-8-73_v5 what am I doing wrong. I even printed off a copy of your instructions so I could follow them step by step. I know its not the computers fault I just don't get it. I am going to practice on a different aircraft and see if I can figure this out.

This might depend on the method or software you use to extract the zipfile. I use the good old Windows utility.

In Win7 right-click (right mouse button) on the file & select Extract All from the drop-down menu.
Image

Click Extract & the files will be extracted to a folder of the same name alongside the zipfile.
Image

Image

In this case this is the folder you paste into FSX\SimObjects\Airplanes

Note: All downloads will vary slightly. It should be easy enough once you understand the basic principles.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34390
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby blackgranada77 » Fri May 30, 2014 7:08 pm

Thanks Hagar. That helped a lot. I got it. I to use Windows utility to unzip the files and am using Windows 7 Pro 64 and FSX Gold. I wanted this aircraft because I flew on TRANS AMERICA from JFK TO London Gatwick back in 1972. It was a DC-8-73 and held 205 passengers all coach. It was a charter flight for High School students on an exchange program. What fun!!!!! Away from home at 16 yrs old and in London no less! Now lets see if I can do it again. There is a Eastern Boeing 720 that I would like to try next. Thanks again.
Dave
Intel I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ OC to 4.2 GHZ 6M LGA1155
2TB Seagate SATA III 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB CACHE
16GB CORSAIR XMS 1866MHZ DDR3
AMD RADEON 7870 2GB DDR5
GIGABYTE GA-Z77-HD3 INTEL Z77 MOBO
Antec HCG-900W Continuous power PSU
CORSAIR HYDRO H60 120MM LIQUID COOLING INPUSH-PULL SETUP
3 120MM CASE FANS
WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL SP1 64 BIT ORBX FTX Global Terrain , FTX Vector , FTX North and South America Freeware Airports , Europe Freeware Airports, FTX KBHB
blackgranada77
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Illinois USA KALN

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby Hagar » Sat May 31, 2014 1:46 am

Excellent! Post again if you have further problems.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34390
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby blackgranada77 » Wed Jun 04, 2014 7:00 pm

OK, need some more help with HJG downloads. Have downloaded the Eastern Boeing 720 and the Trans America DC-8-73. Also got another DC-8 but am having trouble installing a 727-200. After downloading the base pack and the repaint and extracting the files I changed the aircraft.cfg section to 0 then installed the texture and installed into FSX simobjects/airplanes. This is where the problem is. The name of the aircraft will show up but no texture and it shows up under a different plane. I have the Vista Liners Eastern 727-100 package and some FSND 727-200 aircraft then I have some B-717 planes and the HJG 727-200 will show up under the first 717. What did I do wrong. Cant get any 707 ac either. Same thing happens with them. Windows7 pro/ FSX Gold.
Dave
Intel I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ OC to 4.2 GHZ 6M LGA1155
2TB Seagate SATA III 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB CACHE
16GB CORSAIR XMS 1866MHZ DDR3
AMD RADEON 7870 2GB DDR5
GIGABYTE GA-Z77-HD3 INTEL Z77 MOBO
Antec HCG-900W Continuous power PSU
CORSAIR HYDRO H60 120MM LIQUID COOLING INPUSH-PULL SETUP
3 120MM CASE FANS
WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL SP1 64 BIT ORBX FTX Global Terrain , FTX Vector , FTX North and South America Freeware Airports , Europe Freeware Airports, FTX KBHB
blackgranada77
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Illinois USA KALN

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73

Postby Hagar » Thu Jun 05, 2014 2:07 am

blackgranada77 wrote:The name of the aircraft will show up but no texture and it shows up under a different plane. I have the Vista Liners Eastern 727-100 package and some FSND 727-200 aircraft then I have some B-717 planes and the HJG 727-200 will show up under the first 717. What did I do wrong. Cant get any 707 ac either. Same thing happens with them. Windows7 pro/ FSX Gold.

I've never had this problem but some people have reported that it's caused by no thumbnail image* in one or more of the texture folders of your 3rd party aircraft. You should be able to fix it by pasting a screenshot of the aircraft into the Texture folders of aircraft without them. Rename the image to thumbnail.jpg
If you don't know how to take screenshots download the image of the repaint from the HJG download page & use that. Right-click on the image & select "Save Image As". (Remember to rename it to thumbnail.jpg)

*The thumbnail is the image that displays along with the aircraft name on the FSX aircraft selection menu. As I mentioned in my first reply, HJG aircraft were originally intended for FS9 but will work well in FSX. FS9 does not use thumbnails but most of the examples I've tried already include a thumbnail.jpg. One exception is the DC-8 which we installed earlier. Please tell me if this helps.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34390
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73 - Adding Textur

Postby blackgranada77 » Thu Jun 05, 2014 7:55 pm

Tried the thumbnail.jpg on the 727-200 in question-Eastern Air Shuttle 1976 N549EA 727-254. No luck. Never even showed up. Other aircraft I am trying to install is Eastern DC-8-20 1962 N8607 DC-8-21. Please tell me what I am doing wrong. I download the base pack then extract to a temp folder. Do the same for the texture pack. Copy and paste base pack into FSX SimObjects airplanes folder. Open add to aircraft text and change xx to 0 click save then I delete both aircraft cfg sections and copy and paste the ones that I changed that are in my fsx downloads folder into the folder in simobjects airplanes. Know it is alittle different from how you said to do it but it worked for the Trans America and both the Eastern DC-9-30 and 50 aircraft. So what am I doing wrong. Could it be something in the aircraft.cfg file that I need to change. DC-8-20 is different from the DC-8-63 and 71-73 as far as the cfg file right?
Dave
Intel I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ OC to 4.2 GHZ 6M LGA1155
2TB Seagate SATA III 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB CACHE
16GB CORSAIR XMS 1866MHZ DDR3
AMD RADEON 7870 2GB DDR5
GIGABYTE GA-Z77-HD3 INTEL Z77 MOBO
Antec HCG-900W Continuous power PSU
CORSAIR HYDRO H60 120MM LIQUID COOLING INPUSH-PULL SETUP
3 120MM CASE FANS
WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL SP1 64 BIT ORBX FTX Global Terrain , FTX Vector , FTX North and South America Freeware Airports , Europe Freeware Airports, FTX KBHB
blackgranada77
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Illinois USA KALN

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73 - Adding Textur

Postby Hagar » Fri Jun 06, 2014 2:03 am

blackgranada77 wrote:Tried the thumbnail.jpg on the 727-200 in question-Eastern Air Shuttle 1976 N549EA 727-254. No luck. Never even showed up. Other aircraft I am trying to install is Eastern DC-8-20 1962 N8607 DC-8-21. Please tell me what I am doing wrong. I download the base pack then extract to a temp folder. Do the same for the texture pack. Copy and paste base pack into FSX SimObjects airplanes folder. Open add to aircraft text and change xx to 0 click save then I delete both aircraft cfg sections and copy and paste the ones that I changed that are in my fsx downloads folder into the folder in simobjects airplanes. Know it is alittle different from how you said to do it but it worked for the Trans America and both the Eastern DC-9-30 and 50 aircraft. So what am I doing wrong. Could it be something in the aircraft.cfg file that I need to change. DC-8-20 is different from the DC-8-63 and 71-73 as far as the cfg file right?

Not sure why you're doing it that way. All Aircraft.cfg files are different. I haven't had a chance to check this out yet but if you follow my original instructions it should work.

You only need to install the base pack for a specific type once. (Yes, the DC-8-20 is different from the DC-8-63 and 71-73 & should be treated as a separate aircraft.)
If you're adding a repaint (new variation) to an aircraft already installed & working paste the new texture folder into that aircraft's folder alongside the one you already installed. Then open Aircraft.cfg & add the new [fltsim.xx] entry below the existing one & above the [General] entry. Change the xx to the next number in sequence.

Note:

The DC-8 base packs contain two Aircraft.cfg files, one for FS9 & one for FSX. Make sure you follow the instructions in the included installation instructions.txt;

BASE PACKS
=====================================================================
(1) Unzip all base pack files to the aircraft folder of Flight Simulator.
(2) If you are running FSX, delete the file "aircraft.cfg" and rename the file "aircraft_fsx.cfg" to "aircraft.cfg". This must be done before any textures are installed.
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34390
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73 - Adding Textur

Postby Hagar » Fri Jun 06, 2014 3:54 am

Update. I think I see the cause of your problem. Some HJG base pack files are configured differently to others.

In the case of the 727-200 make sure you install the correct folder to SimObjects\Airplanes. (The folder directly containing Model, Panel & Sound folders.) See below

Image

Folder name VL HJG B727-200 Early v1.1 in the above example. (Make sure you delete Aircraft.cfg & rename Aircraft-fsx.cfg according to the instructions before adding textures.)
Image

Founder & Sole Member - Grumpy's Over the Hill Club for Veteran Virtual Aviators
Member of the Fox Four Group
My Picasa gallery
My Flickr albums
User avatar
Hagar
Colonel
Colonel
 
Posts: 34390
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2002 7:15 am
Location: Costa Geriatrica

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73 - Adding Textur

Postby blackgranada77 » Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:01 am

Thanks again. Was able to install the Eastern 727-200 and also a Braniff 727-200. Will keep practicing.
Dave
Intel I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ OC to 4.2 GHZ 6M LGA1155
2TB Seagate SATA III 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB CACHE
16GB CORSAIR XMS 1866MHZ DDR3
AMD RADEON 7870 2GB DDR5
GIGABYTE GA-Z77-HD3 INTEL Z77 MOBO
Antec HCG-900W Continuous power PSU
CORSAIR HYDRO H60 120MM LIQUID COOLING INPUSH-PULL SETUP
3 120MM CASE FANS
WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL SP1 64 BIT ORBX FTX Global Terrain , FTX Vector , FTX North and South America Freeware Airports , Europe Freeware Airports, FTX KBHB
blackgranada77
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Illinois USA KALN

Re: Need help with HJG Trans America DC-8-73 - Adding Textur

Postby blackgranada77 » Fri Jun 06, 2014 9:35 am

I think I got it. Just installed a beautiful Braniff DC-8-62 with the CALDER paint job. Works great. Thanks again for all your help.
Dave
Intel I5-3570K 3.4 GHZ OC to 4.2 GHZ 6M LGA1155
2TB Seagate SATA III 6GB/S 7200RPM 64MB CACHE
16GB CORSAIR XMS 1866MHZ DDR3
AMD RADEON 7870 2GB DDR5
GIGABYTE GA-Z77-HD3 INTEL Z77 MOBO
Antec HCG-900W Continuous power PSU
CORSAIR HYDRO H60 120MM LIQUID COOLING INPUSH-PULL SETUP
3 120MM CASE FANS
WINDOWS 7 PROFESSIONAL SP1 64 BIT ORBX FTX Global Terrain , FTX Vector , FTX North and South America Freeware Airports , Europe Freeware Airports, FTX KBHB
blackgranada77
2nd Lieutenant
2nd Lieutenant
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2014 4:07 pm
Location: Illinois USA KALN

Next

Return to Flight Simulator X and Steam

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 94 guests